Day 63

After falling asleep some time after 2Am last night, I was up with my alarm at 7.10AM, feeling tired but in a good mental place. 

I breath in, breath out, and grab a drink.

I check in on Sam, and she’s awake, so I spend time talking to her this morning whilst drinking my coffee.

By 7.45AM, I need to be getting my shit together, because my physio appointment is in 45 minutes.

7.45AM – SHOWER AND GET READY TO LEAVE

With my stuff already laid out in the bedroom since I got up, I have a quick shower, get dressed, and stuff my lock, my bank card, and my money, into my bag, then I get my helmet on, and get out of the house.

7.58AM – LEAVE FOR PHYSIO

It’s a beautiful day outside and a nice, gentle, easy ride up to the hospital.

8.23AM – ARRIVE AT PHYSIO

I have a little while to wait, then I go in and this time it’s just the guy asking me questions and checking how good I am at doing bridges with one leg. Turns out, I’m not very good at all.

So he suggests -and then signs me up for- a core stability class, 2.30PM on Fridays, starting Friday, June 2nd.

That lasts for six weeks, then it’s on to seeing him again to check where we are, if that’s what I need.

I’m feeling positive about this, as though this is finally the way to get the help that I need.

After physio, I cycle into town to sort a few things out, but not before heading to Lilford Park to get some extra miles and explore some part of the woodland around there that I haven’t seen before.

 

9.13AM – POST OFFICE AND SHOP

First I head into the post office to put £10 from the money my grandparents gave me for my birthday, plus £30 that my parents gave me, into my bank account.

Then I use the left over £10 to buy more chicken, vegetables, kidney beans and chopped tomatoes. I figure whilst I still have some relatively fresh coriander, I might as well use it to make another batch of vegetable curry later.

10.24PM – ARRIVE HOME

I get back, get my shopping put away, and then make a drink of tea whilst I sit down to update this journal, then, I’ve got an article to write.

10.48PM – WORK

Today, I’m ghostwriting an article about smart home technology for Huffington Post, so that should interesting.

Today, I feel like Samsara Blues Experiment is the way to go for my music.

That article was a struggle. I don’t know why, I just couldn’t get into it.

12.30PM – THE DIFFICULT EMAIL

I finished a website project a few weeks ago for a friend that I still haven’t yet been paid for. The problem is that the same friend told me a week or two back that they have been diagnosed with stomach cancer.

Everything in me wants to say “well forget it, just keep the money” but I still have bills to pay, so obviously that’s not an option.

Instead, I email their partner, politely asking if they have a time in mind that they might pay it as I’m just trying to plot out a budget (this is true).

Then I make a cup of tea and get back to work.

12.46PM – ARTICLE IDEAS

For one of the brands that I wrote for last month, the article ideas were not right, so I have to start again, so I grab a pen and piece of paper, and get to that now.

I get those done too. I’m not sure they’re the most inspirational pieces ever written, but I can work on that.

1.38PM – NAP TIME

I’m tired and not with it today, and I’ve been looking forward to this nap, but I don’t get much sleep at all.

The first half hour of my nap is me tossing and turning, the second is disrupted by a sales call, meaning I’m back out of bed and getting on with things.

2.24PM – WORK ON PHOTO EDITING

I make a cup of tea and put Soundgarden on. I’m very upset over Chris Cornell’s passing today.

chriscornell.jpg

It’s such a shock. I’m stunned, sad, and a bit numb.

I have to get on with my day, but of course, Soundgarden are now going to be my soundtrack for the afternoon.

I get a good chunk of those photos edited, and from having 191 originally, I now only have 59 left to be edited.

This is even before I get to work on Manchester pictures, Pennington Flash, or other places that I intend to visit over the coming weeks.

I also look up a few places where it might be reasonable to sell my photos. I’ll deal with that later, for now I’m getting hungry.

4.27PM – MAKE MORE CURRY

I want to use up the rest of my fresh coriander before it goes bad, so I decide that today I’m going to go and make another batch of vegetarian curry.

Sam is up, and I’m half expecting Eleanor to bring an ipad round that she wants me to fix, so let’s see how that goes.

Eleanor doesn’t show, which doesn’t surprise me that much. I concentrate on making the curry, but by adding an extra tin of cannellini beans, it turns into less of a curry and more just some kidney bean erm..stuff.

I make enough for tonight and box up three more portions for other points in the week.

5.52PM – DINNER AND WORK ON HOBBY BLOG

Dinner is eaten whilst working on my hobby blog.

7.12PM – TIME WITH SAM

I hung out with Sam for most of the evening, getting close to one another again and repairing old wounds, but by 11pm, the lack of sleep starts to catch up with me and I develop a crippling headache.

I go to bed at 11.39PM, and stay up until just after midnight playing with a new app I just got called Stockimo.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY

That was OK. I’m happy and at peace with where I got to today, I got done maybe not as much as I would have liked, but then that’s always the case, isn’t it?

Today I’m mostly sad about Chris Cornell, that really through me for a loop today.

Tomorrow, I will attempt to get back to normal and get back on track. Here we go.

Tomorrow is another day.

Leave a comment