Day 62

If my birthday means the start of a new year, I don’t want that new year to start the way yesterday did. So, today is a new day, a new year, and I will treat it as such. 

After falling asleep some time after midnight last night, I slept in this morning and woke up around 8.30AM when Dad called to remind me that he needs me to go down there today.

It’s because of this that I don’t make my normal breakfast. I’ve decided that no matter whatever else happens today, when I get to my parents I can probably take a few hours to watch the rest of Ash vs. Evil Dead and have something to eat.

Until then, it’s another normal day today, and I’m not going to get my hopes up about anything.

I spend the first hour of my day looking at Twitter and email, getting lost reading websites and generally wasting time.

9.06AM – GRATITUDE AND MEDITATION

My gratitude journal entry today is less about gratitude itself and more about not letting yesterday define me.

I come to realise that I get to define who I am every morning, and today, I decide that I am strong, calm, confident, and at peace.

I try a new meditation this morning:

It’s simple yet effective, and I enjoy it very much.

I feel calmer now and more at peace, ready to start my day, even if there are things I don’t really want to do today, like back exercises.

9.30AM – BACK EXERCISES, SHOWER, MEDICATION

This is definitely one of those days when discipline and practicing opposites is needed. I have no desire to work on my back today, but I must remember my long term goal (to be finally rid of this back pain) and go get to it.

After that, I brush my teeth, shave, shower, and get dressed, then sit down to carry on with things.

9.54AM – CANCEL NETFLIX AND SPOTIFY

I’ve been meaning to do this for days but just never got round to it. Spotify I don’t need that much because I listen to more music via Youtube these days, and Netflix is a drain that makes me lazy.

I am likely to sign up for Spotify again, but not right now.

9.58AM – EDITING PHOTOS

So far, I’m getting away with this day off thing, so I take some time to edit photos before I have to go back to my parents.

photoediting

Despite saying what I said about Spotify, I use it today to listen to this Stone from the Skywhilst editing photos:

As I’m going through these, I realise that even after clearing out my camera the other week and discarding a lot of the shots I took in London, I still have 191 of them saved to edit – and that’s not to mention the ones that I already put on Flickr.

No wonder this is is a big job.

If I don’t get it all done today (and I won’t), I should look at breaking it down into smaller segments and using those smaller segments as goals.

11.44AM – SET OFF FOR PARENTS

Dad calls, it’s time to go down there and look after the house whilst the guy comes to fit some blinds.

11.56AM – ARRIVE AT PARENTS

I get here and clean off the conservatory window sills like dad asked me to, and try to avoid getting upset that I still haven’t heard from brother, sister, or gran about my birthday.

Kinda dumb that I still let them define my happiness.

I get the tv fired up and make a Sandwhich whilst waiting for the guy.

The guy gets here and does his thing just in enough time for me to watch one episode of Ash vs. Evil Dead.

Then I see him out, put the conservatory back as I found it and get set to leave.

12.44PM – HEAD HOME

It’s a grey day today, and I reflect about how much I’m letting things get on top of me. I am physically exhausted and just need to rest.

12.56PM – MAKE TEA, WORK ON PICTURES

I can feel myself falling asleep, so I make camomile tea to help me rest, and whilst I’m drinking it, edit a few more pictures.

1.22PM  – NAP

I slept long and harder, much longer and much harder than I thought I would, and didn’t wake up until 4.10PM. Oops.

I woke up feeling better for it though, and more likely to be able to get back into my old routine with Sam again.

4.10PM – REPLY TO EMAIL

I get an email from a client with a bunch of articles to write, so I reply saying no problem, I’ll get to work on that ASAP – ASAP of course meaning tomorrow.

For now, I’m going to get on with something else until it’s time to go to Tai Chi later.

4.16PM – WORK ON UPDATING OLD BLOGS

I’ve got four years’ worth of old content on my portfolio blog, but not much of it is very well formatted or in keeping with the style / structure of my current work.

My plan had originally been to just schedule a whole bunch of tweets, but now I decide that instead, before I put out this old content into the world, I’m going to add some graphics to them, tidy up my posts and make them look better.

In the space of an hour, I only get two posts done.

Crap. This may take a while.

5.32PM – MAKE FOOD

I realise that I’m hungry but also running out of time, so I make a quick,unhealthy dinner of fries, chicken steak, and gravy, and then sit down to gobble that whilst watching some Youtube videos.

6.14PM – GET READY FOR TAI CHI

I don’t really feel like doing Tai Chi this week, but I know that’s just a blip for me because I’m very tired and have been for days.

Going tonight will get me back on track.

I have a shower, stretch out, and get changed into my Tai Chi clothes, ready for the class.

6.48PM – HEAD TO TAI CHI CLASS

It turns out today’s class was just what I needed. I went in there low and exhausted and came out feeling like I’d been given a new lease of life, a smile, some energy.

Ladies and gentlemen, I am back.

8.06PM – HOME AND TIDY UP

Once I get back, Sam is out with her youngest daughter, so I get the dishes washed, clean around in the kitchen, and tidy up the bedroom for a few.

8.46PM – WORK ON HOBBY BLOG

Sam is home, but napping, so I take some time to get started on a new post for my hobby blog. I don’t actually need to post a new one until the start of next month, but getting a head start can not be a bad thing.

I do that until Sam wakes up from her nap at 10.22PM.

I make some good progress, and I’m excited about posting this new one next week.

10.22PM – TIME WITH SAM

Sam is up, but otherwise preoccupied, so whilst I’m waiting to talk to her, I make a drink of tea, and get back to the epic photo editing project.

I only get about two done, then it’s time to be with my girl again after the longest time away.

I stay up until 1.50AM and then head to bed, it is gone 2am when I get some sleep.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY

Coming back was slow today, but that Tai Chi class really helped. My spirits have been lifted, I realise just how much that class – and Tai Chi in general – helps me with my mood.

Today wasn’t the greatest, but it was a damn site better than the day before, and in its own way a little miracle. I am looking forward to tomorrow, at which point I will get to define my own sense of happiness.

Leave a Reply

