Day 64

After falling asleep some time after midnight, I finally caught up with my sleep by staying in bed until 9.27AM. 

I felt much better for it. Sam is up when I wake up, so I talk with her until she leaves, all whilst making tea, omelette, and a hot water bottle.

There are no excuses today, everything is back to normal.

I eat breakfast whilst scrolling through Twitter and reading a few websites, then I make a TDL for today and get on with it.

 10.14AM – GRATITUDE AND MEDITATION

I write in my gratitude journal today how grateful I am just to have another day. So many people who were alive yesterday no longer are today. Life is short, and as such, I will not worry. Just get on with the getting on and see what happens.

For my meditation, I go back to Wednesday, and use this one

I feel wonderfully calm after that, and ready to go do twenty minutes of back stretches and Tai Chi.

10.44PM – BACK STRETCHES, TAI CHI, SHOWER

I play my “meditation music” which lasts 20 minutes, and use that as a guide for doing exercises, which involves back stretches, knee-rolls, planks, leg lifts, a round of Beijing Ten Step Tai Chi and a quick push of a kettle bell.

I set a reminder to do more knee rolls later, then shower, shave and get dressed.

I have a few things I need to take to be washed, plus this will help me get out of the house and breathe in some fresh air before I start my day.

Whilst doing this, I also drink my first pint glass of water of the day.

11.24AM – LEAVE FOR PARENTS AND TAKE CARE OF ERRANDS

I head down to my parents, put the washing on, then come back to take care of a few other things, including paying my credit card and mobile bill, taking the recycling out, and taking care of a quick favour for Sam.

Then it’s on to work at last.

12.07PM – SOCIAL MEDIA WORK FOR CLIENT

That doesn’t take long. Basically, my client needs a few bits of social media work doing, so I quickly take care of that, and then get back onto the never ending task of editing photographs.

12.27PM – PHOTO EDITING

In 30 minutes I get most of the way done, and begin fantasising about finally achieving a goal I had long ago of selling my photography, even if just as stock photos.

I won’t worry about that now though, because I need to go pick my washing up.

1.09PM – GO TO PICK WASHING UP

This is straight forward. I pick up my washing and bring it home to dry on the radiator, hoping that my grey sweatpants will dry later for my bike ride to the meeting.

1.34PM – BACK TO PHOTO EDITING

At last, I’ve got all the photos edited, save for a handful which I want to edit on the Photoshop software I have on my other computer.

I will do that later, but first I want to rest up just for an hour.

2.29PM – NAP

I head to bed and lie down and end up doing one of those comfortable not-quite-asleep dozes for about an hour.

3.40PM – BACK TO PHOTO EDITING

This is the last bit that I’ve got to do now, about 20 – 30 files that I want to try and edit in a different software package.

Whilst I’m doing that, I listen to one of my favourite bands, Monster Magnet.

 

4.56PM – MAKE FOOD

I’m getting hungry, so I go make a bowl of chicken and green beans. Yum.

Whilst I’m making that food, I also drink my second pint glass of water for the day and pour my third.

5.12PM – GET BACK TO PHOTO EDITING

I edit a few more photos whilst eating my food, and actually, finally get all the editing done.

Wow. What a project that turned out to be.

photoediting

And the worst part is that I haven’t actually finished. All those photos now need to either be uploaded to Flickr, to a stock photo site (if I can get the approval on my three test images), or just backed up on to my external hard drive.

That’s for later though.

5.47PM – KNEE ROLLS, SHOWER, AND GET READY FOR BIKE RIDE TO MEETING

I do another set of knee rolls, leg lifts, and a 30 second plank, even though my body is stiff and store and doesn’t like it, I know this stuff needs to be done.

Then I get myself some deep heat on because I’m in pain and get ready to go grab a couple of miles before the 12 Step meeting.

Somehow it takes me a long time to get my stuff together, and I end up leaving at 6.47PM.

6.47PM – LEAVE FOR MEETING

I get a couple of miles in before the meeting, but not enough.

The meeting itself is OK, but again it’s one of those meetings that is a chore, and I don’t want to be there.

There is some good news though, as my friend told us her stomach cancer wasn’t going to be as severe as she first thought. She’s still going to be sick, but she can recover from it. I’m so relieved for her.

After that, I cycled home and added some extra miles up and down the canal path, giving me a total of 10.32 miles for the evening and ensuring that, yes, I will once again meet my cycling target for the week.

9.46PM – MAKE DINNER

I make two chicken steaks and some fries, and whilst that’s cooking, I also clean the stove and get the dishes washed.

10.11PM – WORK ON HOBBY BLOG

Whilst eating my dinner, I get a bit of work done on my hobby blog. I could do more, but I’m expecting Sam back at some point, so I work on something else after getting just a bit done.

11.03PM – CHAT WITH FRIENDS

It turns out Sam is poorly tonight and laying down to get some rest, so instead I spend the rest of my evening chatting with my friends Jayde and Nic before clocking off at 12.38PM.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY

Honestly, I’m just glad that I got the photo editing done today. I feel calm, I feel at peace, and I feel ready for a good week.

I’m glad that I am able to put this one behind me, but honestly, that was just a blip on the radar.

I’ve got a feeling that life is good, and I am very much looking forward to what comes next.

Leave a Reply

