Day 139 – The Reboot, Part II

I keep changing my mind about whether this journal is a good thing or not. Today, I decide that it is, so below, I’m just going to dump a bunch of notes that I’ve made so far.

Up at 8 – 2 cups of green tea, reading, gratitude, a good start to the morning, but then I still fall into the bad habit of wasting time on the internet and on social media doing things that have no long-term (or even short-term) benefit to my goals.

That’s the last time I do that.

It is -regrettably, almost 11am when I get work started, so even though I did good with getting up early, I’ve still got a long way to go with my morning routines.

Before I get started, I take an empty 2-litre soda bottle that I’ve cleaned out thoroughly and fill it with fresh water. That way, when I’m drinking water today, I can know when I’ve drunk at least 2 litres, which is my goal for today.

2017-08-03 10.56.32

10.48AM – WORK

I have three articles to finish today. I’m giving myself until 2PM this afternoon to get it done.

My soundtrack, for now, will be this:

 

Writing finished by 1.27PM – Good times.

Proofing finished roughly ten minutes later at 1.41PM. That was enjoyable. I give thanks to how easy and enjoyable that was.

After that, I grab an unhealthy lunch and set about connecting the email for my home computer tuition business to my Mozilla Thunderbird email client. 

2.25PM – TAKE A SHOWER

I’m making good progress today, but I feel the need to freshen up, so a shower will do just the thing.

2.37PM – TIDY UP

I can feel that mid-afternoon fatigue coming on, and I’m sure a nap is inevitable, but hey, to go from 8AM to nearly 3PM without getting tired is a step in the right direction for me. This no caffeine and fresh water thing really is working.

This no caffeine and fresh water thing really is working.

I decided to postpone my nap by at least 20 minutes by making chamomile tea, taking my anti-depressant, and doing a quick tidy up.

My living room is once again a complete state.

It looks like this:

3PM – NAP

Bang on the dot, I lie down to take a quick snooze – this typically helps me to feel refreshed and alert, but I am certain that once I get into a regular habit of healthy living, I won’t even need my mid-day nap any more.

4.41PM – UP, BACK TO TIDYING

Sam calls so I spend most of my afternoon talking to her whilst finishing cleaning up the living room, turning it from the disaster in the pictures above to something a little less disastrous, like this:

It’s not perfect, and I still need to sweep/vacuum, but it’s a damn sight better than it was, and it feels clean, organised, and healthier.

I am happy as a result.

6PM – TAKE THE RECYCLING OUT

As a result of my recent minimalization efforts I’ve had to do a lot of clearing out, and stacked up quite a bit of recycling, so I take that out. Then I get ready for my first proper cycle ride in a while.

6.16PM – CYCLE RIDE, 12 STEP MEETING, PICK UP PRESCRIPTION

I’m behind on my miles and need to play catch-upstoday. I cycle around in a big loop for a while, picking up my anti-depressant prescription from the doctors en route and then cycling to the 12 step meeting.

The meeting is passionate and powerful, helpful and friendly. In other words, everything I needed for today.

I clock a total of 10.27 miles, which I’m happy with for today.

9.35PM – HOME AND CHANGE

I get home and get changed out of my sweat-drenched clothes, have a wash and a glass of water, and take a minute.

9.38PM – MAKE DINNER

Dinner is once again vegetable curry with sweet potato.

9.50PM – EAT DINNER AND WORK ON HOBBY BLOG

This is a routine I’m happy with. I do this for a while until Sam calls, then I talk to her, and make off to sleep.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY :

As reboots go, that was a good one. I feel alive, refreshed, and ready to start tackling some big goals and making some big changes in my life, one step at a time. The lack of caffeine is really helping me, I have more energy and less anxiety when I cut caffeine out of my diet.

Tomorrow is the last day before I properly get back on the slow-carb diet which I know absolutely works, so tomorrow I will have a pre-diet, eat-anything day, including that sachet coffee that makes me poop but tastes gorgeous, then it’s full steam ahead.

I am back with a vengeance.

Leave a Reply

