Day 110

It’s been a weird start to the day so far, it’s nearly lunch time and I’m only just sitting down to get this journal started. Here’s what happened so far:

First things first, I overslept.

I didn’t have the greatest night’s sleep, and I ended up only waking up at 9.19AM. I made tea, omelette, and a hot water bottle, then sat down to start my day in the usual way.

At 9.49AM, just as I was wrapping up my book, my brother text to ask me if I could be at my parents’ house by 10.30AM to wait in for a parcel, so I said yes.

I finished what I was doing, then got my stuff together and headed down here.

When I arrived, I realised that although I had brought my laptop, I hadn’t brought the keyboard or mouse, so I set up Dad’s horrible laptop to work off instead.

I made more tea, then sat down to handle an “urgent” job from my social media proofreading client. I also used this time to slightly nudge them and ask them if they had seen the guy at their company who is responsible for paying my invoice. Hopefully they will give him a nudge in the right direction and I will get this taken care of and paid for quickly before my rent is due on Monday morning.

Now I’m here, with no gratitude and meditation done, no To Do list, or anything like that, but I can start here, with what I have, and make this work for me.

Here goes.

11.30AM – Gratitude and Meditation

Most of my gratitude writing today is focussed on positive affirmations – everything is going to be ok – and just because half the day is gone that doesn’t make it a lost cause – can still succeed today, and indeed, I will succeed today.

I do this meditation:

But I’m distracted by a pain in my hand that won’t go away, and a general sense of uncomfortableness that sinks down into my soul today and feels generally terrible.

I get more distracted for a while looking up various things online, then I finally decide that it is time to get some stuff done.

12.04PM – PITCH FOR NEW JOBS

I barley get this started when the delivery guy comes, so I take the delivery, then wrap up and head home. I can finish this there, then take a nap.

I get back, get tea, and get on with it.

I pitch to as many jobs as I can find, and also take a few minutes to update my portfolio, then I settle down to take a nap before getting up and getting more stuff done.

1.38PM – MAKE LUNCH, PLAN DJ SET

I get some food then settle down to plan the DJ set that I’m going to do later, bearing in mind that is July 4th, I put in a few tunes for my American friends.

2.21PM – NAP

I lay down and quickly fall into a deep, hard sleep. I must have needed that one, in fact, because I know I’ll be staying up till at least 1AM tonight, I know I do.

4.24PM – WORK ON HOBBY BLOG

I decide that tackling this is the best way to get things crossed off my 50 weekly tasks list, so I email myself the text from my phone, and get to work.

That took way longer than I thought it would, but it is basically all done – 3,579 words of copy, pictures, social media shared and scheduled, and images saved to Pinterest. I am done, and so is another weekly goal.

6.40PM  – GET READY FOR BIKE RIDE

I’m not planning to go far today, but I haven’t done any exercise at all today, and that just won’t cut it, so I’m going to set off, cycle to the supermarket and back. It will only be a couple of miles, but it will count and be worth it.

6.51PM – SET OFF FOR BIKE RIDE

I cycled to the supermarket and back to buy honey, clocking up a total of 4.67 miles in the process.

7.36PM – HOME, SHOWER, MAKE DINNER

I get home, take a quick shower and make a bowl of porridge because that’s what I’m hungry for, then I get myself settled in.

7.37PM – WORK ON HOBBY BLOG

I do just a bit of work planning some new content for my hobby blog. It would be tempting to call it a night and just do this until the end of the night, but I’ve also got stuff to do, including my DJ set, so I force myself up and get after it.

8.42PM – GET SET UP FOR DJ SET

I already have my tunes together,  I just basically need to get my programmes set up and running, so I do that and update this journal, then commit to just a short bit of housework.

8.53PM – TIDY UP

I got the dishes done, took the trash out, and cleaned up the kitchen floor a little, then it was time to sit down and DJ.

9.20PM – ONLINE DJ SET

I enjoyed this tonight and played some fun music.As always though, hanging around for the next set after it means I didn’t get to bed until 12.50AM.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY:

Overall, this day felt like a bit of a write-off in parts, but I think I Managed to pull it back just enough to make it productive and useful. So far, I believe I am still on course for a perfect 10/10, 50/50 week, and nothing can stop me.

Today did serve me well though in reminding me to always double-check that I have everything I need when I am going down to work from my parents’ house for the day. This is important.

I am grateful for everything I have had in my life today, and am very much looking forward to tomorrow.

Tomorrow is another day.

 

Leave a Reply

