Day 100

It’s amazing to think that I’ve kept this up for one hundred days straight. Hardly seems like five minutes ago since I got started. 

After going to sleep well after 2AM last night, I slept long and hard through til about 7AM, then dropped off again and didn’t wake up until 10.03PM.

After that, I ran to the shop across the street for tea, cheese, and bread, and then settled down here at the computer.

First I checked my Twitter accounts, then I spent time transferring the notes in my phone over to yesterday’s journal.

After that, I updated my daily goal tracker spreadsheet with hours worked and miles cycled from yesterday.

That all takes me the best part of the first hour of my day.

10.54AM – GRATITUDE AND MEDITATION

I write in my gratitude journal about how I’m grateful for guilt-free rest. My body needs some down time in order to be able to push at its best for the longer term, so days like yesterday, and like today, were not much actual work will get done, are welcome, necessary, and perfectly valid.

After that, I do this meditation:

I feel a lot more peaceful after that, and really ready to start my day.

11.07AM – WORK

When I checked my emails this morning, I realised that a client had sent me some social media posts to proofread yesterday afternoon. They weren’t marked as urgent, so I’m not going to worry, but I do want to get them done and out of the way so that I can focus on other things.

Soundtrack is this:

I also get a fresh hot water bottle before I start this because my back is just killing me. So too are my stomach muscles, but I can only take that as a good thing.

That took me a little bit longer than I would have liked, but at least it’s out of the way.

12.29PM – MAKE FOOD

I make my Saturday treat of three pieces of cheese on toast with onions and Worcester Sauce, followed by another cup of tea, then I finally get down to the part of my week I love best:

Goal reviews and planning.

12.45PPM – GOAL REVIEW

I didn’t do great this week, achieving only 36/50 weekly tasks for 5/10 weekly goals, but I know that I tried my best this week, and I can’t do better than that.

Here’s what I wrote in my review:

Despite being convinced that this week was the one week when I finally nailed a complete 10/10 weekly goals and 50/50 weekly tasks (I’ve done it before, but not for a long time), this week was actually worse than many that I’ve had in the past.
I should be disappointed, but I’m not because I know that I worked as hard as I could this week, and actually was helpful to others in the process.
I may not have achieved everything that I wanted to, but I did make progress, I kept things going in the right direction, and I can rest and relax now, safe in the knowledge that I will get to where I’m supposed to be, when I’m supposed to be there.
For now, it’s just about making progress, and continuing to push on forward.
Here’s to the last week of June.

1.22PM – GOAL SETTING

donotquit.png

 

This week’s ten goals are:

  1. FINISH DUNALASTAIR CONTENT (BUSINESS / WORK)
  2. FINISH PACIFIC PR (BUSINESS / WORK)
  3. PROOF AND DELIVER ALL REGULAR WORK (BUSINESS / WORK)
  4. DO JOHN’S FIRST ABOUT PAGE (BUSINESS / WORK)
  5. GET FLAT READY & DO FLAT INSPECTION (FINANCE AND HOME)
  6. FINISH ORGANISING MANCHESTER PICS (TRAVEL)
  7. PHOTOGRAPH PENNINGTON FLASH (TRAVEL)
  8. DO RPW SOCIAL MEDIA (WRITING)
  9. PUBLISH NEW PORTFOLIO BLOG (WRITING)
  10. GET NEW CONVENTION TICKETS PRINTED (SOBRIETY / HELPING OTHERS)

To make those easier to achieve, I break them down into 50 small, manageable tasks that I will complete throughout the week. My 50 tasks list also includes things that I just have to get done during the week, like shopping for food and attending 12 step meetings.

When I talk about a perfect 10/10, 50/50 week, I mean achieving all 50 tasks and 10 goals in a week.

After that, I create a chart with the days of the week across the top and four goal areas down the side:

  • HEALTH
  • WEALTH
  • PASSION
  • PRACTICALITY.

Every day, I challenge myself to do at least one small thing in each of these four goal areas and tick it off the chart when I’m done – it helps me to know that each and every day I’m getting closer to where I want to be.

2.12PM – GET READY TO GO OUT

I shower, shave, and brush teeth, and get dressed, then go around and check what I actually need to get from town for the week.

It turns out it’s just ingredients for omelettes, chicken and veg lunches, and veggie curry dinners, but also something to treat myself to today.

2.39PM – HEAD OUT

First  I need to head down to my parents to return the hoodie I borrowed yesterday, then off into town.

I do that, then head out and get everything I need and head straight home.

4.47PM – GET SHOPPING PUT AWAY

I get everything put away, and then settle down, my day is almost over by this stage, I can feel myself just getting more and more tired, but I’ve got things I still want to accomplish today, so I carry on.

5.10PM – WORK ON HOBBY BLOG

I spend a couple of hours working on this, and even stop to make a pizza for dinner and wash some dishes before coming back to it.

8PM – VEG FOR THE EVENING

The rest of my evening is spent watching shows on Youtube, watching an Eddie Izzard DVD, falling asleep, and afterwards playing an old wrestling game on the PlayStation 2.

I end up staying up way too late again.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY:

Half of that day was productive and useful, the other half was mostly a write-off but still ultimately useful because my body needs to rest and recovery every now and again.

Day 100 of my journal was what it was. Here’s to the next 100 days starting from tomorrow.

Tomorrow is another day.

Leave a Reply

