Day 87

After turning in for sleep at 10.30PM last night, I had a weird nights sleep which was more like several naps stringed together than a long night’s sleep.

At one point, I thought I heard banging downstairs and thought my mountain bike had been stolen, but it turned out to be nothing when I went down to check this morning.

I woke up around 6.30AM but didn’t get up and move until 7.07AM, when I went to grab tea, light incense, and sat down to read.

Last year, I used to spend every morning reading for an hour after I woke up and I miss doing it, especially because we’re now halfway through the year and I’ve yet to read a full book all the way through.

I didn’t get breakfast because I still stupidly feel fat and bloated from the night before.

At 8.30, I got my act together and got to the computer, where I write up the start of this journal entry and waste a few minutes looking over social media and choosing music for the morning.

First I go with The Offspring’s Smash album (awesome stuff), but then I settle on this Stoner Rock playlist:

9.05AM – SHOWER AND GET DRESSED

I feel rotten and grotty this morning, not to mention fat and bloated, so my first task is to go shower, shave, brush teeth, and get ready for the day.

The shower didn’t really help. I come out of it feeling hot, clammy, and with a bound up stomach that is so sore it’s distracting.

I must forget about these distractions and move on.

9.42AM – ORDER DAD’S FATHER’S DAY GIFT

Dad was posting bottles of gin on Facebook that he wanted for his collection, so that made Father’s Day shopping easy.

All I have to do now is keep an eye on when it might arrive so that I can be there to get it, and then get a card before Sunday. Wish I wasn’t spending money, but needs must.

9.55AM – ORDER NEW DOMAIN AND HOSTING FOR LEIGH 12 STEP CONVENTION

I’ve agreed to do all the marketing and info stuff for the 12 step convention in town . I’ll admit that whilst there’s a part of me that is doing this to be helpful, another part is doing it just because I think it will get more eyeballs on my work.

Today, I just have to register the basic domain name, and then later in the week I can work on putting a basic website together.

10.12AM – WORK

I’ve got articles to write. Whoop.

Soundtrack is The Offspring’s Ignitiion album.

I get the content up and struggle to come up with an idea. It’s tough when the client only gives you the publication he wants you to write for and a single key phrase he wants you to incorporate.

I don’t get very far though, because Dad calls to ask if I want to go with him and mum to visit my Grandad. It’s his birthday, and he also has cancer, so yes, it’s important to go.

10.36AM – GET READY FOR FAMILY VISIT

I stop what I’m doing to go get dressed properly and ready to leave. Even though Dad’s not coming until 11.30, it pays to be ready so that I can focus on this writing in the meantime.

10.45AM – BACK TO WORK

I get a bit done, but still not enough to finish the actual article. I’m just glad that I managed to finally build some momentum. I find that the hardest part of writing any article is simply getting going.

Once I get going, it’s usually just a case of keeping that momentum up. I’m looking forward to getting back so that I can build some solid hours up today.

11.36AM – LEAVE FOR GRANDPARENTS

Dad comes to pick me up with my mum and sister in tow, and we head to visit my Grandad for his birthday.

2017-06-11 11.48.17

It’s weird seeing him as a frail old man rather than the rotund and happy chappy I knew from my childhood, but I’m just glad I could be there with him, even if only for a bit.

12.55PM – BACK TO WORK

I get home, make tea, and set this awesome album by Book of Wyrms as my soundtrack:

With that, it’s time to get back to work.

I get another half an article done, but I’m really struggling today and just feel totally wiped, so I decide to try and take a nap, just long enough to clear the fog and reboot.

2.18PM – NAP

That nap was just what I needed today. I fell asleep fast and slept had until 3.45PM, and woke up ready to go again though equally just as capable of dropping straight off back to sleep.

After I woke up, I made tea, and wasted time on social media before finally getting my act together and forcing myself to finish this article.

4.08PM – BACK TO WORK

That was pretty straight forward this time. I stop the clock at 4.45PM dead on, giving me a total of 2 hours and 28 minutes of work today.

I also realise that I haven’t eaten anything today, so the next step is obviously to head into the kitchen and make food.

4.46PM – MAKE CHICKEN AND VEG

I make my usual green beans, broccoli, cauliflower, and diced carrots with the smallest bit of kale. Whilst that’s cooking, I also do a bit of tidying up in my permanently messy kitchen.

5.07PM – SIT DOWN TO EAT DINNER

I eat dinner whilst catching up on social media, which is fast becoming an all-consuming problem for me again. I need to ween myself off that, but first, I’ve got other things to do.

5.17PM – GET READY FOR CYCLE / 12 STEP MEETING

I only have 21.72 more miles to do this month before I’ve completed my weekly and monthly cycling targets. I’m determined to get a big chunk of those miles done before the meeting today, so I go to get ready and set off.

5.35PM – SET OFF FOR BIKE RIDE / 12 STEP MEETING

I go up through Pennington Flash, up the path towards Leigh which brings you out before the bridge, then on the canal and up out of Leigh the wrong way, before turning around and going down to Plank Lane.

From there, I did an about turn again and headed to the meeting.

The meeting was incredibly good, full of love and laughter and light, and was perfect.

9.34PM – MAKE FIRST BATCH OF CURRY

I was tempted to make both batches at once but I realised the other pan I was going to use just wasn’t big enough.

So I make the first batch, mixing in some peas and kale into my usual recipie.

I also chop up and steam a sweet potato to have with dinner tonight whilst also making enough curry to last me the next four nights. I’m still going to make a second batch tomorrow though.

10.35PM – DINNER AND HOBBY BLOG

With dinner made, I sit down to eat whilst working on the next post for my hobby blog. I get absorbed in this and time passes. It ends up being after midnight when I finally settle down for the evening.

12.26PM – BED

I again flick Teal Swan on YouTube and drift off to sleep.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY

Today was mostly enjoyable and I felt good that progress is being made on my weekly goals, therefore making sure that my longer-term goals are getting closer as a result.

It was nice to be at the meeting and see everybody and even nicer to get a good blast of exercise in first.

I feel like I acted calmly and rationally today, that I was in control of myself, if not my surroundings and circumstances.

Seeing Grandad was sad but I’m also glad that I could be there, even if only for a little bit.

I enjoyed today and am looking forward to a good week.

Tomorrow is another day.

Leave a Reply

