Day 86

After going to sleep at 10.44AM last night, I first woke up at 5.21AM, but then drifted off back to sleep until 7.03AM.

I ran over to the shop to buy tea and cheese (eat anything day, hoorah!), and then came back, made tea and a hot water bottle, and wasted time reading over stuff on Twitter.

7.44AM – GRATITUDE AND MEDITATION

I write in my gratitude journal how I’m blessed to have everything I need today, and how because of that I can choose to spend my day how I like. Yes, I’m going to choose to spend some of that time working, but that is only because I will reap the long-term benefits of doing so.

I also write that I am going to make the most of my opportunities today and enjoy my life.

After that, I go back to my favourite abundance meditation.

I still find myself terribly distracted with this one, but at the same time just taking a few moments away from everything to breath in, breath out, and do nothing makes me feel positive and uplifted and ready to start my day.

8.05AM – WEEKLY REVIEW

And now for my favourite part of the week – when I get to review my progress and build on that to achieve more goals.

Today, I choose to listen to The Offspring’s fantastic Ixnay on the Hombre  album whilst I do this.

I did good this week, clearing 45/50 weekly tasks for 8/10 weekly goals, smashing my cycling target and coming close to my financial target.

I feel like every week I’m getting closer to that elusive 50/50, 10/10 achievement, but I can and will get there, and it starts with setting new goals for the week.

8.24AM – WEEKLY GOAL SETTING

Every DayOne Step closer.png

My ten weekly goals are as follows:

  • GET ALL ALBERT’S WORK DELIVERED (BUSINESS)
  • ALL JULY ARTICLE TITLES PITCHED (BUSINESS)
  • WRITE MEDIUM ARTICLE (WRITING)
  • WRITE NEW RPW REVIEW (WRITING)
  • PHOTOGRAPH ONE NEW CITY (TRAVEL)
  • ORGANISE MANCHESTER PICS (TRAVEL)
  • DO DAD’S GARDEN (GIVING BACK)
  • BUILD AA CONVENTION WEBSITE (GIVING BACK)
  • DO AA FLYERS (GIVING BACK)
  • APPLY TO VOLUNTEER AT LEIGH FILM FESTIVAL (GIVING BACK).

9.03AM – SHOWER AND MAKE BREAKFAST

I’ve still got more goal planning stuff to do, but first it’s a good idea that I take a quick shower, wash my hair, and brush my teeth.

I do all that feel calm, refreshed, and invigorated, then treat myself to three slices of cheese on toast with onion and Worcester Sauce.

Did I mention I love Saturdays?

Jen calls whilst I’m doing this and we’re going to meet up later. Which I’m going to tell myself is going to be fun.

9.46AM – TASK PLANNING

The last of my weekly goal planning tasks involves breaking my ten weekly goals down into 50 small, managable tasks that I will complete throughout the week. This task list (which I normally refer to as The Weekly TDL – To Do List) also includes odd stuff that I just have to get done, like visiting parents, attending 12 Step Meetings and making appointments.

After I’ve done that, I complete the last task, which is to create a chart with the days of the week in the top column and my four main goal areas down the left. These are:

  • HEALTh
  • WEALTH
  • PASSION
  • PRACTICALITY.

Every day, I must do one small thing to push me closer towards my goals in each area, and I tick them off the list when done.

10.10AM – APPLY TO VOLUNTEER AT LOCAL FILM FESTIVAL

A few days ago, I saw a tweet from the local film festival in town that they were looking for volunteers. This struck me as something that I’d like to do, just to get out and have new experiences, so I’m going to fill that form in now.

That took a while because I really wanted to put a good application in, but once it is done, it is done, and I don’t have anything to worry about. I either get to volunteer, which is great, or I don’t, in which case the only thing I’ve lost is 30 minutes of my time.

No biggie, as Sam would say.

That’s the first of my weekly goals taken care of.

10.44AM – WORK

I don’t want to work today, but I do want to have money, so needs must. I’m going to give it til 12.30 today.

Soundtrack is:

That took about fifty minutes with a few distractions, but it did give me another great story to include in my HCL social media, so I schedule that now.

I then write an article about who will be the next manager of Sunderland FC, which is something I honestly couldn’t care less about.

At 1.31, I stop the clock, and I’m done with work for now.

1.32PM – ADD JEN’S PICTURES TO A FLASH DRIVE

Jen is having trouble rescuing the pictures i took of her from her email, even when I uploaded them and sent her the link, so the only thing for it is to put them on a flash drive for her.

That was easy.

1.37PM – GET READY TO HEAD INTO TOWN

My next task before meeting Jen is to get my act together, head down to put some pants in the wash at my parents, then head into town to buy ingredients for veggie curry, something to eat tonight, and some sponges for washing the dishes with.

This turned into the longest day ever.

After visiting parents to put pants in the wash, I ended up messing around with the dog and didn’t leave until 2.37PM.

Then I headed into town and just had the worst time. It wasn’t just busy, it was busy with foolish people and I had a hard time putting myself in other people’s shoes to empathise with the and imagine what kind of day they’re having – that’s my normal technique for avoiding getting angry, but it wasn’t working, especially when it was confounded with the fact that I couldn’t find what I wanted and was there longer than necessary.

Finally, I headed home tired, sore, and in a grumpy mood

4.55PM – HEAD OUT TO MEET JEN

I’d agreed to meet Jen at Pennington Flash – so that’s where I went next.

We had a walk, with Jen taking me a route that I’ve never been before, we stopped to watch some ducks and then guided each other through a Loving Kindness meditation, which was just perfect.

After that, we walked back and Jen dropped me off here at home.

7PM – HOME AND SETTLE

I go over to the shop to buy my one bottle of fizzy soda for the week (cherry coke), and then come home to take my damp jeans off, catch up on the news, and update this journal.

7.26PM – GET SET TO WORK ON RPW POST

I’ve decided that instead of just chilling out and doing nothing, I’m going to combine chilling out with work on the next post for my hobby blog, which involves setting the TV laptop back up to work from there for the evening.

I get that started, but it also involves transferring a whole bunch of big, heavy video files over onto my 1TB external hard drive. That might take a while, so as I’m getting that done, I can go and do a bit of housework and put the dishes on to soak.

7.47PM – 30 MINUTES OF HOUSEWORK

I get the dishes done, laundry put away, and a few other bits and pieces taken care of, then I finally get round to making dinner and settling down for the evening.

9.05PM – EAT DINNER, WORK ON HOBBY BLOG

I sit down to enjoy my cheeseburgers (no buns), curly fries, and onion rings, followed by an Eton Mess for dessert. Whilst I’m doing that, I work on my hobby blog and get the first few paragraphs taken care of.

I want to do more, but I find myself falling asleep after ten, so at 10.30PM, I turn to Youtube and end up falling asleep to Teal Swan videos.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY

I learned a few things today about this “eat whatever you want” ‘cheat day; thing. It doesn’t mean I have to eat as much as I can. I felt bloated and stuffy afterwards, and that’s not the plan.

That and having a rotten time in town today put a dampener on things, but thankfully some time with Jen pulled it back, and I finish this day the way I started it; positive and happy and looking forward to the future.

I can have a better day tomorrow.

Tomorrow is another day.

Leave a Reply

