Day 79

I was probably after midnight when I finally went to bed, and today I allowed myself to sleep in late until 9.35AM. 

This is the one and only day of the week that I’ll do this. With every other day, my goal is to be up no later than 8AM, that’s how I’ll get things done.

I make myself a tea and hot water bottle, but skip the omelette because today is the day that I can eat anything I like, and I am going to enjoy that.

I also take my anti-depressant and some pain medication because my back is killing me.

I remember that I started sleeping on the sofa because it gave me a better night’s sleep than my bed, but now that I’m waking up in back pain again, I do wonder if it’s not time to give the bed another try.

Anyway, I make a TDL for the day and then kill some time catching up on websites before starting my day properly.

9.58AM – GRATITUDE

I write in my gratitude journal about how blessed I am to have a life full of abundance, how I am gratitude that I get to spend my days doing things I like and my nights sleeping peacefully, safe in the knowledge that everything is going to be OK.

I can untie the knot in my stomach, and relax, everything is going to be OK.

10.08AM – WEEKLY REVIEW

And now I kickstart my favourite part of the week, reviewing goals and setting new ones.

I feel that despite everything, I did relatively OK this week, completing 44 out of 50 weekly tasks for 7/10 weekly goals. I’m determined to beat that score this week, which is why I get straight onto doing my weekly goals.

10.28AM – WEEKLY GOALS

howmuchyougetdone.jpg

These are the ten goals I set for myself this week:

  1. FINISH AND DELIVER BHANGALS WORK (BUSINESS)
  2. GET PAID FROM PACIFIC (BUSINESS)
  3. SCHEDULE ALL HCL SOCIAL MEDIA (BUSINESS)
  4. KAREN’S FACEBOOK BANNER (BUSINESS)
  5. PAY RENT (FINANCE AND HOME LIFE)
  6. FIX WIRELESS HEADSET (FINANCE AND HOME LIFE)
  7. WRITE FIVE PORTFOLIO BLOGS (WRITING)
  8. WRITE MEDIUM ARTICLE (WRITING)
  9. DO DAD’S GARDEN (FAMILY / GIVING BACK)
  10. PHOTOGRAPH ANOTHER CITY (TRAVEL).

After that, I break those ten goals into fifty small tasks, and make a chart so that I can be sure I am working every day to do one small thing to progress my health, wealth, passion, and practicality goals.

11.06AM – BREAKFAST

I quickly run to the shop down the street to buy a small loaf of bread and a small block of cheese, then come back to make three pieces of cheese on toast with onion and Worcester Sauce.

It’s delicious, and I savour every mouthful.

11.29PM – DOCUMENT R.E.M

I’ve written before about how I document and review every album I listen to. Today it’s the turn of R.E.M’s Reveal album, which I’ve been listening to in the kitchen for the past several weeks and is starting to drive me a bit mad.

11.52AM – BACK EXERCISES

After getting that album done, I decide that I’m going to get back into doing back exercises lightly. I’m very stiff and sore today after the core stability class, which is why I’ve decided not to cycle into town later.

I should give my body chance to recover, and then I can pick it up again tomorrow. At least one day’s rest is good for me.

I do some light stretches, some knee rolls, a few bridges, and some leg lifts for knee strength, then I gently practice the Beijing 10 Step and relax. At least I’ve done something today.

After that, I brush teeth, shower, and get dressed.

12.19PM – WORK

Before I go into town, I’ve got two tasks I want to complete: Finishing a social media proofreading job my client has sent over, and also sending another email about that payment. I realise that the problem was with the last one that I didn’t propose a solution.

Hopefully I can make that right this time round.

Proof reading takes me 40 minutes, after which I get on with working out a price that I can pitch to my client.

I put together a carefully written email proposing to cut £845.25 off his invoices for the year, divied up in three installments of £200 and a fourth of £245.25.

All I can do now is wait for a reply.

1.34PM – HEAD INTO TOWN

I have a few small bits to pick up, so first I’ll head to my parents and then into town. Hopefully, I can be back by 3pm.

I quickly pop into my parents to confirm that I’ll take care of the garden job dad wants me to do, and that I’ll take care of it later this week.

Then I head into town and buy:

  • Diced chicken x 2 bags
  • Green beans
  • Mixed veg
  • Curly fries (been craving them for days)
  • Kitchen wipes
  • 15 eggs
  • Some mad banana cheesecake thing for dessert (more of which later).

I also treat myself to a donut because I’ve been craving one for days, and for some mad reason I also randomly buy a lottery ticket.

3.27PM – HOME AND PUT SHOPPING AWAY

I get home, get changed into a comfortable shorts and t-shirt outfit, and then put the shopping away, scoffing on some of the free Jaffa Cakes I got by spending over £5 in the frozen foot store (result, right?).

3.39PM – WORK

I’m really not up for getting much work done today, but I know that it is important that I finish these construction industry articles, so I am going to force myself to sit down and work until at least 5PM. After that I’ll write one blog post and then chill out for the evening. This is doable.

My soundtrack for this work is this awesome Indian Chill playlist from Spotify:

Despite not being into it, I finish one article at 5.01PM. It’s not the best article in the world, very dry, but I legitimately don’t know how to make quantity surveying sound sexy.

Maybe when I approach the last four articles as my main focus for tomorrow, I’ll feel more inspired to write some good stuff.

After a few minutes of just coming down from that work, I get on with the last thing I want to do today.

5.07PM – PORTFOLIO BLOG

I get one post written about Guns ‘n’ Roses that was actually really fun to do (as these things well should be!) , and then decide that I’m going to make food and slob out for the evening.

I’ve done everything I wanted to do today, I’ve made some progress, and this is the one night of the week where I will allow myself to take it easy before going full bore for the rest of the week.

I have earned the right to occasionally relax, as long as I trust that this is a treat and not the norm.

6.31PM – MAKE DINNER

I’ve been looking forward to this. I’m making curly fries with onion rings and cheeseburgers (without buns).

I also grab a two litre bottle of soda from the shop across the street, which is the only time this week that I will drink anything other than water or tea.

7.21PM – SIT DOWN TO EAT

I grab a hot water bottle because I’m in a lot of pain, then I sit down to eat both the meal I made, and the huge banana cheesecake thing I bought. I watch TV, and relax for the entire evening, finally going to bed at 1AM.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY

I didn’t get done everything that I would like today, but I did make progress on two of my weekly goals and also had the well-earned rest that I need to make sure I have a productive and successful week.

Everything starts tomorrow, and I am very excited.

Tomorrow is another day.

Leave a Reply

