Day 72

After falling asleep after 2.50AM, I was up by 9.47AM and again spent the first half an hour of my day in a complete daze, staring at Twitter whilst drinking the cup of tea I made and preparing a hot water bottle. 

Because of the way that I organise my goals and targets (with the last Friday of every month being the end of that month, and a new month starting the day after, regardless as to the calendar month), today is the first of my efforts towards working on June goals.

Before I get to that however, I have some work to do, and I also have to get to the Post Office to deposit some cash and also shop for ingredients to make another vegetable curry for the week ahead.

I can’t afford to be in a funk today, and I can’t afford to let things linger. By the time I’m motivated and ready, it’s 10.22AM. The post office shuts in 2 hours, so that should be among my top priorities.

First I need to get back to basics and do my gratitude and meditation.

10.23AM – GRATITUDE AND MEDITATION

I write in my gratitude journal about how I’m grateful for a new beginning today, and for the realisation that I am where I am supposed to be right now. I write that today, I will adapt myself to whatever the day brings, because this is far easier, and far less painful, than trying to adapt the world to suit me.

It’s also easier said than done, but I will try.

From there, I go to put myself in a good frame of mind for the month ahead by doing the abundance meditation:

I enjoyed that. It brought me out of my funk and got me enough motivation to go and do my back exercises, which really felt like skipping this morning. I suppose that’s what you call discipline – doing something that is good for you even when you don’t want to.

10.40AM – BACK STRETCHES, SHOWER, AND GET READY

I do basic backstretches today, just the standard physio stuff -if I’m short on time, as I am today, it’s good to know that I can just do this and at least I’m doing something.

Jen calls for a chat, so I speak to her for a few. I love Jen dearly, but it bothers me that she believes something that isn’t true about another friend of mine.

After that, I shower, shave, brush teeth, and get ready to leave.

11.15AM – LEAVE FOR TOWN

My plan is to deposit some cash in the Post Office, then do some shopping, including:

  • Shorts and sleeveless top for when it is a hot day
  • Kidney beans
  • Tinned tomatoes
  • coriander
  • Something for dinner later (it’s my “cheat” day).

When I get into town, the first port of call is the Post Office, where there is, of course, a huge queue that goes literally out the door.

I know this sounds terrible, but sometimes I love coming to the Post Office, because it makes me feel like I’m managing my life way better than I realise, especially compared to other people, who seem to have the greatest difficulty doing simple things like sending parcels and picking up forms .

I deposit the cash, then pick up everything I need, including some extra chicken, extra sweet potatoes, and a couple of pairs of shorts and a vest top so that I can wear them when I’m out cycling.

Whilst I’m in town, I bump into my old friend, Karen, who is starting her own business. I agree to go round during the week and help her with setting up a Facebook page for her new business.

With that done, I get lunch from McDonalds, including the milkshake I’ve been craving, and head home.

1.44PM – HOME AND LUNCH

I get home, get my shopping put away, and then collapse on the sofa with my McDonalds to finish watching the TV series that I’ve been watching. As I do that, I start getting sleepy, so I take a nap.

3.30PM – TAKE NAP

I had a good, comfortable sleep today, and wake up at 4.53PM feeling a little drowsy but mostly content and happy.

4.53PM – WAKE UP

I grab something to drink, swap messages with Sam, and try to figure out why it’s still so hot in here despite turning the heating all the way off. When I can’t figure it out, I give up, get sat down, and get on with the one thing I’ve been looking forward to doing all day:

Goals and review:

5.31PM – WEEKLY REVIEW.

I’ve got to do a whole monthly review and new monthly goals, but in order to know where I’m up to, I first need to do a weekly review.

I think I did OK this week, I completed 39/50 weekly tasks, for 7/10 weekly goals. That’s about average for me.

In my weekly review/reflection, I wrote:

That was the end of another week over and done with, and with it the end of another month. I feel like this one finished strongly rather than with a whimper like a lot of months do. 

I worked hard and I got a lot done. I could have done better, absolutely I could have, but that has always been the case. For me, the big thing here is that I simply kept going. I’m learning a lot about discipline lately, and about keeping moving forward even when i don’t really want to be doing what I need to be doing. 

I’ve been distracted a lot lately, but that’s the internal part of me that is resistant and wants to hold me back from success. 

I have to remind myself that I was born to be successful and have an enjoyable and happy life, so there is no need to resist. 

Going forward, I can work on letting go of resistence. Now that I’ve identified this as an issue, and a big issue at that, removing it from my life will help me in the long run. 

Otherwise, I’m glad to be right where I am today, and am looking forward to bigger and better things in June.

6.13PM – GO TO PARENTS

With the weekly review done, I need to take a break to go and check on mum and dad’s dog whilst they’re out and make sure he has had something to drink, so I go do that next.

I let the dog out, pick up most of my laundry (some of it is still wet), then head home.

6.55PM – MONTHLY REVIEW

Now that I’m back, I can settle in (I think I’m catching up with Sam tonight, but not sure), and look back over the month that was.

I achieved only half of my monthly goals (15/30), but in many ways I feel OK about how May went because I’m continuing to make progress on things, but because I break my yearly goals down into four quarterly periods, and Quarter 2 ends on June 30th, I’ve got a lot of work ahead of me, so that’s why I move on to planning my goals for June 2017.

7.29PM – MONTHLY GOAL PLANNING

Letting Go.png

First, targets are made by looking at the targets I set for the quarter, and subtracting the amounts I’ve already achieved towards those targets.

For example, my cycling target for Quarter 2 was 313 miles, but because I cycled 135+ miles in May and 77+ in April, I now only have to cycle 99+ in June.

I get the monthly goals done and once again it fills me with a great excitement about what I’ve got to do over the next five weeks. I’m very excited about doing all of it and meeting my targets.

8.23PM – WEEKLY GOALS

Now that I’ve got my weekly goals and targets done, it’s time to make those goals and targets easier to achieve by breaking them down into smaller, manageable tasks.

discipline.jpg

My goals for this week are:

  1. FINISH AND DELIVER ALL ALBERT WORK (BUSINESS / WORK)
  2. FINISH AND DELIVER ALL PRO INSTALL WORK (BUSINESS / WORK)
  3. SORT OUT PRO INSTALL RATE FOR ALI (BUSINESS / WORK)
  4. FINISH AND DELIVER ALL BHANGALS WORK (BUSINESS / WORK)
  5. VISIT KAREN TO DO FACEBOOK (BUSINESS / WORK)
  6. WRITE 5 PORTFOLIO BLOGS (WRITING)
  7. WRITE MEDIUM ARTICLE (WRITING)
  8. ATTEND FIRST CORE STABILITY CLASS (HEALTH)
  9. LAST TUESDAY AA MEETING (SOBRIETY / SPIRITUALITY)
  10. TIDY FLAT BEFORE MAY 30th -British Gas coming (HOME AND FINANCIAL SECURITY)

To make those even easier, I make my weekly TDL, breaking those goals down into fifty smaller, manageable tasks.

With that done, my last task is to make the chart where I break down my tasks into four main goals:

  1. HEALTH
  2. WEALTH
  3. PASSION
  4. PRACTICALITY.

I have to do something -no matter how small- every day in each of those four areas, and then I tick the chart off when I’m done.

8.59PM – MAKE DINNER

I’ve been craving cheeseburgers and cheesecake with cream all week, so that’s what I’m having for dinner.

I make those, crash in front of the TV, and before I know it, that’s it. Hours have passed, I’m sleepy, and the day is over.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY

That was terrible. I mean, yes, everybody needs time to lay low and recover from one busy period before going into the next one, but that was kind of ridiculous, I feel gluttonous, slobbish and lazy, which is not how I want to feel in my life.

Hopefully tomorrow will be better. Tomorrow is another day.

Leave a Reply

