Day 71

 After going to bed just before midnight, I think it was gone 1.30am, if not even later when i finally dozed off. I woke up at 8.30, but then snoozed “for a few minutes” and before I knew it, it was 10.04AM.

Feeling bad that I overslept, I spent the first hour of today feeling like a zombie. I need to pull myself out of this mood quickly because this is exactly the kind of day that sends me into depression.

I take my morning a little easier and listen to some music, and after about an hour, I’m feeling positive, but need to get stuff done today.

11.18AM – WORK

Yes, I’m literally just getting right into it this morning. I’ve got too much to do, and it’s the last day of the month, so I want to make it count.

Take a deep breath, think positive thoughts – remember – what I focus on, I get more of – and get to it.

Today’s music is this:

If I can just get those four articles that I worked on yesterday finished up, then I’ll feel good about my progress.

Here goes.

I get three articles done with relative ease, but realise that I’m hot and grotty, so I pause at 12.27PM and go to take a shower and get dressed.

12.27PM – SHOWER

I take a shower, brush my teeth, wash my hair, dress. I feel refreshed, but still fighting an uphill battle on a down day.

I get a drink, get sat down, and get some music on.

Now I’m listening to this:

12.45PM – BACK TO WORK

I got the third article done, and stop the clock at 1.20PM, having totalled only 1 hour and 40 minutes of work to polish off those four articles. I’m happy with that.

I’m also hungry, having eaten exactly nothing all day. I’ll get lunch when I get back, but first I want to quickly run down to my parents.

2017-05-26 17.48.56

1.25PM – PARENTS

I’m going partly to put a load of laundry in, but mostly because I set a weight target for May, and since I’ll be doing a monthly review and planning for June tomorrow, I need a final weight measurement to see if I made it.

If I’m at my target now, even though it’s half way through the day, I’ll consider it a job well done. If not, it’s not a problem, I’ll just have to work harder next month.

I head down there, and the great news is that I did it, barely.

There are 14 pounds in a stone, and my weight as I measure it this lunch time is 13 stone, 13 and three quarter pounds. 13.13 3/4 pounds. I just made it, in fact, that’s actually a quarter of a pound better, because my goal for this month was just to get myself back to 14 stone.

I can start working on making improvements from here.

1.50PM – HOME, MAKE FOOD

I grab my first pint glass of water of the day and decide to start at the beginning. I am going to make an omelette.

I make a normal spinach and onion omelette with chia seeds, but change it up by adding a weird mix of stuff, chili, nutmeg, and paprika.

I won’t do that again. Although it gives the omelette a unique flavour, it’s way too strong for me.

Whilst I’m doing that, a lady calls to help me sort out a problem I’ve been having with my electricity bill. I gladly get that taken care of.

2.19PM – EAT LUNCH

I sit down to eat my odd tasting omelette and do a little bit of research about whether it’s OK to heat chia seeds.

According to this piece from Claire Obried, it is.

2.27PM – BLOG WRITING

Today, I’ve got to get on and write that blog I was asked to put together for National Freelancers Day.

That takes up most of my afternoon, but is a blog I can actually be proud of.

The completed thing is here:

How to Survive and Thrive as A Freelancer – Top Tips and Lessons Learned 

Getting that done puts my weekly article chart at just 7 articles left from 25. it also gives me 1189 towards my word count.

5.49PM – SEND RUTH AN INVOICE (AGAIN)

Ruth texts me to ask if I can resend the invoice so she can pay me. I do that now then go to get some quick food going on before i go out.

5.54PM – MAKE CHICKEN AND VEG

I make a bowl of green beans, kale, carrots, broccoli and a little cauliflower with some strips of chicken, and grab my second glass of water.

I demolish that happily whilst browsing Twitter, then go to get ready to go out, even though the Friday meeting is typically the last place on earth I want to be.

6.22PM – GET READY FOR MEETING

I brush teeth, shower, shave, and get ready to go.

6.42PM – LEAVE FOR MEETING

I cycle to the meeting but take time out first to head down the canal for a while and clock up some miles. It’s a beautiful evening and it’s good just to be out.

I’m almost tempted just to cycle around and skip the meeting, but I’m glad that I didn’t, and that I actually went to the meeting, because it turned out that it was actually pretty good.

I enjoyed being there, and even got paid at long last by Ruth.

After the meeting, I cycle home, adding a total of 11.45 miles to my weekly total.

9.38PM – MAKE DINNER

This makes a change, actually having a healthy dinner on a Friday night. I have my usual steamed sweet potato and veggie curry, and grab my third pint glass of water, then I sit down to eat it in front of the TV.

10.35PM – HOBBY BLOG SOCIAL MEDIA POSTING

It’s Friday night, I’ve worked hard all week, so I leave things be and hang out in Second Life. I know it’s dumb, but it’s harmless, and trust me, it’s way better than what I used to do on Friday nights when I was still drinking.

I did that and then turned the computer off just before 1.30AM, but it was gone 2.50AM when I finally got to sleep.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY

I’m glad today happened, because it was a good lesson in remembering to be kind to myself.

There was no need to beat myself up this morning, all it did was take away from what could have been a great day.

I’m looking forward to tomorrow, when I get to kickstart another month of working towards goals.

Tomorrow is another day. Here goes.

Leave a Reply

