Day 69

After falling asleep only after 2AM last night, I had a reasonable night’s sleep and woke up feeling tired at 7.55AM. 

Sam was up and not feeling well, so I mostly spent the first hour of my day talking to her whilst getting my omelette, tea, and hot water bottle.

I also decide that instead of cycling to town to buy groceries, I’m going to take the bus so that I can buy everything at once and not have to worry about making several trips throughout the week.

I eat my breakfast still talking to Sam and looking over a few websites, then I make a second cup of tea and get on with my day by writing a TDL.

8.53AM – MORNING GRATITUDE

I write in my gratitude journal today how blessed I am to realise that the universe works with me, and how grateful I am for the universe gifting me with the discipline I need to push through when my own twisted thinking makes me resistant to doing the things that I know are good for me.

I find that I often have resistance to exercise, eating healthily, working hard, or practicing a spiritual programme. I am wired so wrong that I have no resistance to doing anything that is bad for me.

Something kicks in that isn’t me that pushes me through these things, that makes me stick to a relatively healthy diet -even if only for a day- that makes me do my back exercises, and that makes me focus on my work.

I write all this down, but I do a meditation video because even though Sam is falling asleep on me, she’s still connected to me, so I want to be there for her.

9.15AM – GET MY STUFF READY TO GO INTO TOWN

I still need to do back exercises and take a shower, which I will do when Sam says goodnight, but for now I can get my clothes together and a shopping bag ready to take.

I also get together all the empty carrier bags that I collect on previous shopping trips, save in a bottom drawer in my kitchen, and then take to the charity shop in town which always needs bags.

That’s just a little good deed that I always do that I like to think benefits them in some way.

By the time I’ve done this, Sam has said goodnight, and it’s time for me to properly get my day going.

9.34AM -FIX WEBSITE

There is a problem with one of my websites that a domain name hasn’t been paid for properly, so I quickly get that taken care of, then get on with a five minute meditation.

9.45AM – MEDITATION

Today, I go back to this one

I swear down sometimes a good meditation session is better than sex. I feel calm and peaceful today, and am now looking forward to getting on with things.

9.52AM – BACK STRETCHES, SHOWER, MEDICATION

I force myself to do the full back routine today – stretches, knee-rolls, planks, bridges, and even lifts for my leg, then i shower, shave, brush teeth, and get dressed ready to go out into town.

I make another cup of tea, then sit down to prep work for when I get back.

10.35AM – GET WORK READY

Today, I’m starting work on cutting down the ten articles that I have to write for a construction industry consultancy, so I load up the pages and the titles that I need and start planning.

I get a brief plan together for the first article that I have to write, then I wrap up to go into town.

10.51AM – HEAD FOR SHOPPING

I head into town to buy the following:

  • Chicken
  • Eggs
  • Honey
  • Shower gel
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Onions.

I get everything that I need and buy a small protein bar that I eat on the way home.

12.12PM – HOME, PUT SHOPPING AWAY, DRINK TEA

I get the shopping put away, and spend more time talking to Sam whilst looking on in despair at people I like sharing hatred and violence and negativity on social media.

I get that what happened here in Manchester was horrible, but misguided hatred isn’t the answer.

I feel bad because I’m already tired but I need to get stuff done, but I figure if I take a quick nap, I can start this day over.

12.58PM – NAP (SORT OF)

Turns out I wasn’t actually tired, just hungry and distracted.

I lie in bed for 20 minutes then get up to make lunch.

13.24PM – MAKE LUNCH

I make my usual bowl of chicken and vegetables and eat it whilst doing a little more research on this article I need to write. I don’t know why something is blocking me from getting started today, but I must get through it.

13.55PM – START WORK

I eventually clock off over three hours later, having only written one article and started drafting another. That’s just a poor show even for me, and I’m disappointed with myself.

I am tempted to keep pushing, but i am getting hungry, and also want to take a shower before Tai Chi, so I clock off at 5.15PM and go to make dinner.

Still, it’s better than nothing. it’s progress, and some days progress is the best I can ask for.

My article table now looks like this:

2017-05-24 20.23.59

5.16PM – MAKE DINNER

I’ve been roasting my sweet potatoes since I first started eating them, but today, I was reading this page about sweet potatoes and their health benefits from World’s Healthiest Foods and it occurs to me that steaming them with a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg is likely to be better.

So I do that whilst shamefully drinking my first pint glass of water of the day, and also getting the dishes done.

5.41PM – EAT AND HOBBY BLOG

I sit down to eat, and get everything except for an introduction and a conclusion done. I can do both of those when I get home later.

6.35PM – GET READY FOR TAI CHI

i realised that I didn’t have time for a shower, so I just had another shave because I half-arsed it this morning, then set off.

6.50PM – LEAVE FOR TAI CHI

I was very distracted in Tai Chi today and didn’t feel like I was really with it, but at the same time, I really enjoyed the class and feel like I’m genuinely getting somewhere with making progress.

8.10PM – GET BACK AND MAKE TEA

I make some apple tea, then catch up with Sam for a few minutes. The poor girl is running a fever and sounds terrible, so I leave her resting and go get on with things.

8.32PM – FINISH HOBBY BLOG

I grab my second glass of water for the day and write both the introduction and the finale.

After that, I finish adding images and some SEO, then post and schedule it out on social media.

That takes up most of my night, but was wealth worth it because somehow that turned into a mammoth post that added 5+ thousand words to my total. That also gives me another weekly goal complete and three weekly tasks (writing, pics, social) done.

10.11PM – MAKE PORRIDGE, WATCH TV

I’m really hungry by this point, so I decide to draw a line under today, grab a bowl of delicious porridge and watch some Red Dwarf.

Whilst making the porridge, I also got my third glass of water of the day, and too some painkillers because tonight I am in pain.

I dozed off to sleep at 1am.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY:

I’m disappointed in myself that I didn’t get more done, but I think at least getting into that mindset of writing the new construction articles helped, and should make things much easier going forward.

Even though today didn’t go according to my plan, and even though i didn’t achieve half the things I would have liked, I did at least get some stuff some done that will push me towards my long-term goals.

I can also congratulate myself on sticking to my diet despite every urge not to.

Tomorrow is another day. Tomorrow will be a better day.

One thought on “Day 69

Leave a Reply

