Day 68

 In a very weird mood this morning. I went to lay down last night at gone 10.30PM, and fell asleep watching Red Dwarf, then I woke up to Sam texting me, again as if nothing had happened. 

After that, it was gone 1am when I finally got to sleep. I woke up again at 8.14AM and checked my phone.

It was then that I saw the terrible news about the terrorist attack at Manchester Arena. My first thought is that I was only there myself a few weeks ago, but then I read about all the children who died or are missing, and think of the confusion, the pain, the horror that people must be facing right now not 20 miles away from me, and I am sad, and I cry.

A full hour goes by, before I even get the strength to start my day normally.

9.09AM – GRATITUDE AND MEDITATION

I write in my gratitude journal about how grateful I am to still have my friends and loved ones safe, and simply pray, pray hard for those who are searching for missing relatives today.

My heart is heavy and sad. I try a new meditation today but it doesn’t work, and I’m not entirely sure this is the right one for me.

I somehow need to get some focus today. I have to do what I have to get done.

9.33AM – BACK STRETCHES AND SHOWER

I go through the very basics this morning, I consider that a holding until I get the motivation that I sorely need today, but which is completely lacking.

I brush teeth, shave, shower, and get dressed.

As I do so, I tell myself that yes, what happened in Manchester is a terrible tragedy, but I am not responsible for it. My heart can be with those affected, but my head must -just for today- stay where I am.

I have responsibilities here, and this is the best place for me.

9.55AM – GET READY FOR WORK

I spend a few minutes setting up the files that I need for work today, so that when I get back from picking my laundry up from my parents, I can dive right in and get going.

When that’s done, I’m feeling a little more like myself, reminded of my own responsibilities today and the things that I have to do.

10.04AM – GO PICK LAUNDRY UP

Straight down, straight back, no fuss.

10.24AM – WORK

Plan for the day is to get the brand that I was working on yesterday finished, and do as much of the second brand as possible before 6PM, when I’ll take a break and do something else with my evening.

Once again, my soundtrack is this Epic Gaming playlist on Spotify.

I get that first brand finished by 12.07PM. I could have done this quicker, but I don’t mind admitting that I am very distracted today.

With that brand done, it is my second weekly goal completed (my first was giving Eleanor her iPad back).

12.10PM – TAKE A SHORT BREAK

Before I get my head into a new brand and an entirely different way of writing, I take a short break to grab a drink and take my recycling out.

12.16PM – BACK TO WORK

I get two articles written and done before I start to get hungry. It’s also during this period that I drink my first pint glass of water of the day.

1.33PM – LUNCH

I make my usual bowl of chicken with kale, diced carrots, peas, and green beans. I also grab my second pint glass of water for the day.

I eat most of my lunch whilst catching up on some emails and scrolling through Twitter, then it’s time to get back to work.

1.55PM – BACK TO WORK

I get back to work, drinking a third pint glass of water as I do so.

I get two more articles done, with just one more to go, but I feel myself getting drowsy, so I decide to take a short while to take a nap, just to beat the fog away, then I’m going to get back and nail this last article.

3.55PM – NAP

I dozed lightly for an hour, but didn’t really feel like sleeping, and eventually got up, a little drowsy but mostly feeling refreshed and positive, at 4.54PM.

4.56PM – WAKE UP TIME

I make tea, and just give myself time to wake up and relax before getting back to work and hitting the last article of the day.

Here goes.

5.15PM – BACK TO WORK

Sam talks to me for a bit, so this takes longer than I thought, but I get the last article finished up, and hit the stop button on my timer at 6.26PM.

I have my fourth pint glass of water of the day whilst doing this.

Done. That’s a solid day of writing behind me, and another two articles down.

I am making progress this week, and I am proud of how much I’ve done so far. That is another weekly goal completed.

That also gives me the chance to cut down my article writing chart from 22 to the following:

2017-05-24 08.43.36

6.30PM – MAKE DINNER

Again, it’s sweet potato and vegetable curry with my fifth pint glass of water for the day. Feeling very good about my health and how well I’ve maintained my diet these past two days.

Whilst food is cooking, I put laundry away, take the rubbish bins out, and wash the dishes.

7.08PM – DINNER AND WORK ON HOBBY BLOG

I get my sixth pint glass of water and drink it whilst doing some good work on my hobby blog. I’m actually nearly finished with this now, and looking forward to getting it completed by Thursday.

8.35PM – SAM CALLS, PREPARE FOR ONLINE DJ SET

I think we’re trying to work through things, so I spend some time talking to Sam on the phone whilst getting ready to do the online DJ set that I originally gave up doing, but which I’m getting back into doing for two hours tonight.

That basically ends up being most of my night, I do the DJ set from 10 – 12, have another long conversation with Sam, and end up being done by 1.22AM.

At that point, I’m also really hungry, so I make a bowl of porridge and fall asleep and crash out on the sofa, where I fall asleep some time after 2AM.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY

Though today might not seem like much to some people, it is one of those days that I can be proud of because I get everything done that I needed to do work wise, and also stuck to my diet despite being really, really tempted not to.

I regret going to bed so late, but hopefully I can make up for that with an early night on Wednesday.

Tomorrow is another day.

Leave a Reply

