Day 65

An interesting morning so far. After going to bed after 12.30AM, I didn’t get to sleep until gone 1AM. So, I slept in until 8.57AM. 

I woke up feeling refreshed and happy, and went into the kitchen to make tea, omelette, and hot water bottle.

Jen called, so I spent a bit of time talking to her on the phone, then sat down to eat breakfast, check email, and browse a few websites.

Whilst I’m doing email, I read about the Wigan Bike Ride 2017, an off-shoot of the Wigan 10K that I ran back in 2013.

It’s a 50 mile bike ride with a low cost entry of £19.50, so I decide I have to enter. I’m going to wait until mid-week when I’ve got all my bills sorted out and know what kind of income I have left to play with.

I finish breakfast, then sit down to start my day the usual way.

9.56AM – GRATITUDE AND MEDITATION

Before I do that, I also remember to get my daily TDL together.

I write in my gratitude journal about how grateful I am that every day is a new beginning, a new chance to start again whilst still making progress and adding to what I did yesterday:

Every Day is a Stepping Stone to Better Things. 

Then I go back to this five minute peace and calm meditation, because it really is effective in making me feel peace and calm.

I love that meditation. It makes me feel so much better about things.

10.18AM – QUICK WORK TASK

One of my emails is a client sending me two documents of social media posts to proof and rewrite.

I decide I will get this work out of the way now before I get on with my day.

Samsara Blues Experiment are my soundtrack for this work:

That was relatively straightforward, and even gave me some ideas for my own social media work for HCL. But more of that later.

Whilst I’m doing this work, I also get on and drink my first pint glass of water of the day.

11.16AM – BACK STRETCHES AND SHOWER

I do my basic back stretches today, and also some leg lifts and a quick go with the kettlebell, then I shower, brush teeth, and get dressed.

11.46AM – WEEKLY REVIEW

Next I get into what is often the favourite part of my week, looking back over my progress and getting that reignited sense of inspiration as I set goals for the week and then get after them.

For music, I switch to Pearl Jam’s Vitology, which is an album I’ve been listening to a lot over the past few weeks, and which I plan to document later.

I achieved only 31/50 weekly tasks for 7/10 weekly goals this week, but that partly wasn’t my fault, because some of those tasks were work projects which didn’t come in until later in the week.

I am not worried about that. If anything, I am merely excited about where I can take my life.

I have an abundance of everything today, and I am very happy.

12.02PM – WEEKLY GOALS

MAKE IT COUNT.jpg

My goals for this week are:

  1. ALL PRO INSTALL CONTENT DONE (BUSINESS)
  2. ALL DUNALASTAIR CONTENT DONE (BUSINESS)
  3. ALL AMSTERDAM CONTENT DONE (BUSINESS)
  4. FAYE 1 – 5 DONE (BUSINESS)
  5. ALL HCL SOCIAL MEDIA DONE (BUSINESS)
  6. ASK RUTH AGAIN ABOUT PAYMENT (BUSINESS)
  7. WRITE MEDIUM ARTICLE (WRITING)
  8. FINISH SS96 REVIEW (WRITING)
  9. GIVE ELEANOR HER IPAD BACK FIXED (GOOD DEED)
  10. UPLOAD ALL LONDON PICS (TRAVEL)

As always, my next task is to break these goals down into 50 smaller tasks that I can focus on completing throughout the week.

Whilst I’m doing this, I drink my second pint glass of water of the day.

Steve calls whilst I’m doing this to ask if I can print off some meetings lists for tomorrow’s meeting, so there’s a good deed done.

After that, I make my weekly chart which ensures that I do something towards my four big goals in the following areas:

  1. HEALTH
  2. WEALTH
  3. PASSION
  4. PRACTICALITY.

12.55PM – WORK

I want to clock at least two hours of work today, mainly in planning my articles for the week because I have many to write.

It starts with getting a chart together of all the articles that I have to write for the week so that I can keep tabs on my progress.

It looks like this:

2017-05-20 13.25.33

Then I get a document together with a list of all the articles that I have to write so that I can go through and systematically work them off one by one.

I must admit, this takes longer than I had planned because I get distracted by rediscovering how truly awesome Incubus are.

This was one of my favourite bands in the early 00s, and they still sound phenomenal today.

Once I get the list of articles together though, I have to turn Incubus off or else I’ll never get anything done today.

WIth the list done, my next task is to start planning out the actual articles.

Things go wrong after a while when I spill a glass of water all over my keyboard end up having to use a small, spare keyboard that is tiny and difficult to use.

As I write this now, my usual, awesome keyboard is in the bedroom3 drying out after being blasted by a hairdryer,

I’m not sure if that helps, but let’s give it a shot.

I get one article almost written entirely apart from the introduction, and another one planned out.

Then I start to get really hungry, so I head to the kitchen to make chicken and vegetables.

3.02PM – MAKE LUNCH

Sam calls whilst I’m making lunch, so I continue to talk to her as I’m cooking and then eating. Whilst I’m doing that, I also drink my third pint glass of water.

3.57PM – FAILED NAP

I thought I was going to take a nap mainly because Sam was, but it turns out that I wasn’t all that tired for one thing, and for another, some guy is outside trimming his hedges with one of those noisy machines, so I couldn’t get any sleep even if I wanted to.

I decide instead that, even though it is a miserable day, getting out and experiencing some fresh air will be good for me, so I start to get ready to grab some miles.

4.45PM – SET OFF FOR BIKE RIDE

That was a hard slog of a ride. At 7.86 miles it wasn’t the longest I’ve ever done, but it was the gradients and the hard terrain, and the speeds that I was taking them at, that got to me.

I arrived home sweaty, achy, and well exhausted. A sign of a good blast on the bike.

5.40 – HOME, WATER, SHOWER

I down my fourth pint glass of water of the the day whilst stripping off, then take a shower and take a little while to just gather my bearings and update both this journal and my weekly goal tracker chart.

6.04PM – MAKE DINNER

It doesn’t feel like five minutes since I ate, but I’m now hungry – like really hungry, so I decide that making dinner and crashing on the sofa, even if just for a short while, sounds like a good idea.

This quickly turns into a hysterical disaster.

I decide that I’m having curry with chips.

I put the chips on and put the dishes on, then ran some cold water to put in my water filter jug.

Didn’t know I’d left the tap running, so then I thought “give food a minute and dishes a minute to soak, go and try to finish drying the keyboard that was giving me so much grief earlier.

Except I got carried away and ended up melting the keys so badly that the keyboard is now eternally ruined.

Anyway, as that’s going on I hear what I think is food sizzling in a pan, then I remember that I haven’t put any food in a pan, so, shit, it must be that I left the cold water tap running.

So I run back into the kitchen and my floor is literally soaked.

Shit.

I had to laugh,

As dumb as it all is, I find it hysterical, especially when I think to myself “oh well, at least my kitchen floor got the clean it needed at last.”

7.30PM – WORK ON HOBBY BLOG

I eventually get some dinner together and sit down just to spend a few hours working on my hobby blog until I get together with Sam to round out my night.

10.12PM – TIME WITH SAM

We laugh and we joke just like we did when we first got together, and it’s fun, and right, and perfect.

I go to bed at 12.31PM.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY

I’ve had lots of energy, lots of enthusiasm, and lots of motivation today. I’ve made progress.

I’m happy, and I’m looking forward to an awesome week.

Here’s to it.

Leave a Reply

