Day 55

Despite going to bed early, it was still well gone midnight when I finally fell asleep. I originally woke up sometime around 6am but then fell back asleep until around 7am. 

I immediately make a cup of tea and begin packing some more laundry for a second day at my parents.

I make a daily TDL, and then almost make myself late by getting lost reading some dumb stuff on the Internet.

7.30AM – GET READY AND LEAVE FOR PARENTS

I pack my laptop up, get dressed, and get myself together then leave the house.

It’s a bright and sunny morning this morning with a bit of a chill, cold, but not cold enough to ruin a beautiful morning.

7.55AM – ARRIVE AT PARENTS

I get my laptop set up on the dining table, then go to put a load of laundry in, but somebody has already beaten me to it, so instead I set a reminder to put it on later, and then make a cup of tea, get settled, and get about my day.

8.18AM – GRATITUDE AND MEDITATION

I actually had the sense to bring my Gratitude Journal with me this morning, so I use it to write about how grateful and blessed I am just to have everything that I need in my life today.

Then I do the same calming meditation that I did yesterday, just because I enjoyed it.

8.44AM – BACK STRETCHES

Becuase I have Tai Chi later, and because I don’t have an awful lot of room where I am right now, I do just the basic stretches.

8.57AM – WORK

Today I’ve got four brands that I need to generate a whole bunch of article titles for, so I grab a stack of paper and a pen, put some music on, and get to work.

I get all the regular articles done that I need to do, but I still have one more brand to prep for before I can take the break that I have been looking forward to.

So I keep going.

I get the rest done quickly enough, and then I’m happy that I can make something to eat.

That clocks off my fourth of ten weekly goals. Still work to be done.

11.33AM – MAKE LUNCH – WATCH TV

Much as I did yesterday, I take an hour to make a cheese and ham toastie, and then sit and watch two episodes of Ash vs. Evil Dead whilst eating it.

12.38AM – BACK TO WORK

I have an article to write…actually I have a bunch, but with the painter almost done, I decide to just tackle one, then I can get on with some other stuff and get home.

It’s an article about the England hockey team looking ahead to the Commonwealth Games in Australia next year, and I have to admit that despite some extensive research, at no point did I feel confident that I knew what I was talking about. Hopefully, what I did manage to pull together was good enough.

1.53PM – DAD’S GARDEN

2017-05-10 15.02.10

On Sunday, Dad gave me another task to do in the garden, so now that the painter has gone and I can let the dog outside and use the conservatory, I decide to get on and get that done.

2.25PM – TAKE A BREAK

It turns out that this isn’t just the kind of job you can do in an hour. This is going to take some serious work, so I decide that I’m only going to give it 30 more minutes, then I’m going to take a bath and get on with my day.

The rest of the gardening can be done either tomorrow or Friday.

I get two of the huge posts dug out of the ground, the concerete bases smashed up with a sledgehammer, and laid flat on the grass. To call this backbreaking work would be an understatement, I am hot, sweaty, and sore. I need a bath.

3.05PM – RUN A BATH

I run a bath whilst talking to Sam and working out our disagreements, I think we’re getting back on the same page again.

The bath feels instantly better – soothing on my back, relaxing, welcome relief.

3.45PM – GET PACKED UP AND GO HOME

After the bath, I get dressed and head downstairs ready to pack up. Dad is home from work and tells me that he doesn’t need an extensive amount of work doing on the garden now because instead of doing what he had planned to do, he is spending money on new blinds instead.

I still need personally go to down and finish the task he asked me to do the other week though.

I pack up my laptop and my laundry, and head home.

4.05PM – HOME

I get home, enjoy a cool glass of soda, then get the laptop set up again, all the while having this raging debate in my own head about whether to eat something healthy or to go to the shop and buy some junk.

Healthy eventually wins out.

4.30PM – COOK PLATE OF CHICKEN AND VEG

I make that plate and then crash out for two hours watching Bates Motel, yes, I’m starting to realise that this is really not good for me all this time in front of the TV this week. I’m considering it a one off.

6.32PM – GET READY AND LEAVE FOR TAI CHI

After that, i get dressed and head to my Tai Chi class.

6.50PM – TAI CHI

Class was good today, and I do keep feeling more confident every time I go, but at the same time something bad happened. I was doing initial stretches and felt a sharp pain around my right knee, which hurt every time I put a lot of pressure on it. Now the entirety of my right leg is sore.

I’m hoping that I’ve just tweaked something, and with a bit of ice and some painkillers, it will go away.

8.10PM – TALK TO SAM

I get home and Sam calls, so we spend about 20 minutes talking on the phone. Then I get settled and update this journal.

8.44PM – WORK ON HCL WEBSITE

I only have one quick, simple job that I want to get done for this, it involves designing a graphic on the awesome Canva.com

I do the job I need to do, even though I’m not entirely happy with the actual graphics. I can work on that later but for now I’m convinced that I’m happy with the page itself and I have some basic stuff done.

Tomorrow, I just need to add contact forms, and a bio picture of me, and then this website is done.

9.23PM  – CHANGE GRAPHICS AND ADS ON HOBBY BLOG

I’ve done this once before since starting this blog, on Day 22, so you can use that post as a background for the information.

For now, just doing this is my last job for the day.

It took longer than planned because I couldn’t find the right images, but eventually I got that done to clock off my fifth weekly goal and another monthly goal. I am happy with my progress, but I am also hungry.

10.02PM – MAKE FOOD AND CRASH

I end up with a plate of beans and sausage with three crumpets, and eating that whilst crashing on the sofa watching a show called Bojak Horseman, Bates Motel was starting to lose me, so I decide on this instead.

I’m cancelling that Netflix subscription tomorrow.

11.23PM – BED

I’m dozing off by this point, so I crash land on the sofa and just fall asleep where I am.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY:

Very upset with myself about the way my diet has gone for the last two days, tomorrow is a return to normality and a chance to get back on track, so I shall take it with both hands.

Otherwise, I still feel like I’m just making good progress this week, getting where I need to be slowly. I’m looking forward to tomorrow and to getting more done.

Tomorrow is another day.

Leave a Reply

