Day 54

I went to bed at 12.27AM last night and probably fell asleep around 1am. I slept reasonably well, and then I originally woke up at 7AM but accidentally nodded off again and fell back asleep until my “this is your last chance to wake up on time” alarm blasted me awake at 7.15AM.

I got up, went to the kitchen, made a cup of tea, and asI was doing that, grabbed some clothes to wear for the day.

Mum and Dad are having a painter come in to paint their conservatory at 8AM, so I’m supposed to be there for 7.45AM to let him in and keep the dog out of the way for the day.

As I write this, it is already 7.29AM, so I now get dressed, pack my laptop down to take with me (I’m not using Dad’s laptop again, it is rubbish and weird). and prepare to head on down there.

7.44AM – LEAVE FOR PARENTS

It’s a grey and dull morning this morning as I walk down the road to my parents carrying my laptop and a load of dirty washing in my bag.

I get there, unload the laptop on the table and put the washing in the machine.

Then I make a cup of tea, set the laptop up, and let the dog out. By the time I’ve done all this, the painter is here.

So, I let him in, make him a cup of coffee, and make sure he has everything he needs. By the time I’ve done all this, it’s finally time for me to settle down and get some stuff done.

I say settle, I feel unsettled this morning because I haven’t had a chance to do my normal routine properly.

I was of the opinion that I couldn’t because I am here, but then it occurs to me that just because I haven’t brought my gratitude journal with me, that doesn’t mean I can’t jot down a few things to put into it when I get home.

I also have my headset, and there is room here to get my exercises done, so let’s try and start this day as though it were just any old normal day.

8.18AM – GRATITUDE AND MEDITATION

I grab a sheet of blank paper and a pen, and I write about how blessed I am to have a job that I can take anywhere with me, so that I can always make a living whenever I need to.

I’m feeling unecessarily anxious this morning, so I do a Youtube search for “5 minute meditation for letting go” and come across this from The Honest Guys.

8.36AM – BACK STRETCHES

I don’t do the full Tai Chi routine this morning, but I get my daily stretches done. I can always do Tai Chi later when I get home if there is time.

I am very tired this morning and don’t feel like I’ve woken up properly. Mum and Dad have some instant coffee, so even though I quit drinking coffee at home months ago, I tell myself that I’m not at home, and I can at least try this coffee.

If it’s disgusting, I don’t have to drink it again.

8.49AM – WORK

I’ve got a few emails to respond to this morning, and another order for some work (thank you, Universe), so I need to deal with that, and then get on with writing at least two articles.

My ETA for finishing all of this is 11.30AM.

That coffee was definitely a bad idea. I feel anxious and on edge now, and I don’t like it.

11.18AM is the time I finish, and I could have probably finished earlier except for Sam was up and about and wanted to talk. I’m fairly sure our relationship is in trouble, but I’m doing my best to make that work whilst simultaneously getting my articles written.

11.19AM – MAKE FOOD

I didn’t realise it, but somehow I lost two hours of my day on an extended lunch break.

2017-05-09 11.57.17

I made two cheese and ham toasties and watched two 30 minute episodes of Ash vs. Evil Dead Season 2.  I loved the first season of that show, and didn’t know there was a new season until I saw it on Mum and Dad’s TV this morning, so I watched two episodes of that.

That acounts for an hour, but where the other hour went to I legitimately have no idea.

1.12PM – WORK ON HCL WEBSITE

Just see any entry from the last couple of days for background on what this is. I’m almost done with it, but it does require work, so I get right to it.

This goes well, and I’m happy with how things are progressing. I can see an end in sight.

3.26PM – CLEAN MY TOP

At some point, I realise that I’ve got white paint from the conservatory all over my favourite top -my own fault for wearing it – so I go upstairs and change into one my Dad’s – it barely fits and that’s embarrassing – but it gives me something to wear whilst I furiously scrub the paint out of my top.

3.45PM – FINISH HOBBY BLOG

My plan is to get this over and done with, then I can watch another episode of Ash vs. Evil dead. By that time, the painter should have finished and I’ll be able to go home.

I get that done to add 2946 words to my weekly word goal and cross the third of my weekly goals off.

With that done, I can pack up to go home because my brother’s girlfriend is now home.

4.32PM – GET READY TO LEAVE

I pack up my washing -its still wet, but I can dry it on the radiator at home later- along with my laptop and the scrap of paper that I need to put in my gratitude journal when I get home.

4.48PM – HOME

Once I get home, I get the laptop back in place, get the washing on the radiators, and get comfortable.

I’m tired today, so I’m going to take a nap.

5.04PM – NAP TIME

I lie down but don’t really fall asleep, instead going kind of into that dozy state where I nod off and don’t sleep.

Eventually, pure hunger wakes me up.

6.22PM – MAKE PORRIDGE AND WATCH BATES MOTEL 

I’ve got a real craving for porridge, so I make a bowl of that and sit down to watch an episode of Bates Motel, which at one time was one of my favourite shows.

I haven’t seen Season 4 yet, so I watch that, then get up and decide that I have to get something done before the end of the day.

7.20PM – KNEE ROLLS AND SHOWER

I do my second set of knee rolls and then take a shower, hoping it will freshen me up, but it never does.

I come out of the shower feeling foggy and not very good at all, but I’ve got something on my mind, and I need to take care of it.

First, I get dressed into some comfy clothes then go down to take the bins out for tomorrow.

I come back up and Dad calls to ask if I can go back down in the morning to look after the dog again because the painter is coming back. I half-jokingly grumble about being there for 8am, but really, I don’t mind.

I realise that being out of my own house forced me to have a more productive day today, and I’m actually looking forward to having another one for tomorrow.

8.12PM – WORK

About six hours ago, a client asked if I could turn a piece of work around ASAP. This normally means “by the following morning,” but I know that it is going to bug me and be on my mind all evening if I don’t get it done, so I force myself back to the computer and get back to work.

That takes me a long ass time, but I get it done and now it’s out of the way and I can move onto other things, but for tonight, that means lying down.

10.12PM – MAKE FOOD – LIE DOWN

Sam is still out of town, so I’m going to make some chicken and vegetables and crash on the sofa, finish watching Bates Motel, and get an early night.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY:

I’m unhappy with what I ate and drank today (no water), and upset with the way things are with me and Sam with her upset that we don’t get any time together. I know this, but most of the time it’s because she’s busy or out of town.

Otherwise, I’m glad that I was able to get done everything I needed to get done today, and that I was able to speak to Sam at least just a little bit.

I am very very tired though, and am looking forward to a relaxing night on the sofa.

Leave a Reply

