Day 52

After falling asleep some time after 11pm last night, I woke up feeling fully rested and ready to start my day at 7.05AM. 

I opened the curtains, went to the kitchen to make my omelette, cup of tea, and hot water bottle, then sat down and for a few minutes just scanned over a few websites and my Twitter feed before making my daily TDL.

7.47AM – GRATITUDE AND MEDITATION

I write in my gratitude journal about how grateful I am for all the help that I have been given to get to where I am today, and how grateful I am for any opportunity to repay it, such as I’ll have later this morning when I go to help my Dad in the garden.

I then do the Five Minute Miracle meditation that I did yesterday and feel really uplifted and positive afterwards.

With that done, I really feel ready to get on and make the most out of this Sunday.

8.06AM – BACK STRETCHES, MED, SHOWER, AND DRESSED

My back is hurting today, and I know that it is going to hurt more after I’m done working on Dad’s garden, but that’s all the more reason to spend some time working on my stretches.

Whilst I’m doing my stretches, Dad texts me to say to leave doing the garden work until next week, which is weird because it’s a beautiful, bright morning and just perfect for doing it, but hey, I’m not complaining.

I’ve got plenty of other stuff I need to do this morning, and I will still head down to parents because I’ve got something I need to drop off.

After stretches, I brush teeth, shower, make tea, and get dressed.

8.39AM – WASH DISHES AND CLEAN KITCHEN

I know that I’m going to go down to my parents as soon as I’ve finished this fresh cup of tea that I made, and that work at the computer will begin after that, but whilst I’ve still got the tea I need something to do, so I head into the kitchen to tidy up a bit whilst listening to Fleetwood Mac’s Greatest Hits.

I wash the dishes, wipe the counters, and sweep the floor, then get ready to head to my parents.

9.19AM – VISIT PARENTS

I walk down there on this bright and beautiful Sunday morning and find them sitting out in the garden relaxing.

It turns out that the reason we’re not working on that garden today is that my brother was supposed to be helping but he was out late last night and is sleeping in.

There’s a part of me that thinks “well if he knew we were supposed to be in the garden today, it was stupid of him to go out late,” but hey – how many times did I do something similar?

I ask Dad if he needs anything doing during the week, and he gives me a task to do, so I decide that I will do that later this week, and head home to get some writing done.

9.44AM – WORK ON PORTFOLIO BLOGS

See, that is what I love about writing. It is now early afternoon and I had no idea that I had been going at this since before 10am.

I get wholly consumed by writing blogs about music, delving back into music videos, recalling memories. I write all four posts that I need to not only complete my first weekly goal of the week, but also another monthly goal.

I do over 2,000 words off my total, update my charts and goals lists, and consider that a successful morning.

1.17PM – MAKE LUNCH AND TALK WITH SAM

I’m really hungry by this point, so I go into the kitchen to use up some food, and end up making two sausages and some tinned spaghetti.

Sam is around by this point, so we swap messages back and forth whilst I cook dinner.

Whilst that’s going on, I put the laundry away and get the TV going, because one of my favourites is back.

1.36PM – WATCH AN EPISODE OF IT’S ALWAYS SUNNY

2017-05-07 22.59.10

I love this show, I find it absolutely hilarious, and I’ve been waiting a long, long time for the new season to air on Netflix here in the UK. Now that it is, I’m making the most of it.

My plan is to watch just one episode whilst I eat lunch, then lie down for a few, and then watch the rest later when I get home from the meeting.

Naturally, I do end up watching two episodes, but I do end up dozing off and taking a nap.

3.04PM – WORK ON HCL WEBSITE

I feel good and calm and content after my nap. I make tea and grab a fresh hot water bottle, then begin doing some more work on the website that I was working on back on Day 32 and Day 46.

I get a good bit of copy written and laid out on the pages, but tomorrow I will need to add graphics and tidy up those layouts. I’ve got a feeling it is going to be a while before I am absolutely happy with this site looks, but I am making progress, good progress, and I can actually see an end in sight for this.

4.50PM – SECOND SET OF KNEE ROLLS AND SHOWER

With that bit of work done for the day, I make sure to get a second set of knee rolls done to help my back, then I take a shower and freshen up.

5.15PM – GET READY FOR SHORT BIKE RIDE / MEETING

Out of the shower, I begin getting dressed for a short bike ride. I’ve got some extra time today because Sam is with her family, so I decide to make the most of it and get a couple of miles clocked up.

5.26PM – LEAVE FOR BIKE RIDE / MEETING

Ten minutes later, I leave the house, ready for a quick 30 minute bike ride before powering down to the meeting.

I did a random route which took me once down the side of Pennington Flash, back past my own flat and past the entrance to the Flash then up towards town, to the East Lancs road and then down again past my flat from the other side and down to the meeting.

6.21PM – MEETING

I get here dearly and regret it, I am far better coming late then I don’t have to dig Isley waiting for the meeting to start and engaging in idle conversation.

I sit here quietly and can’t wait to get home, or at least to get the meeting started so that I can be distracted until it’s time to leave.

I write up this part of my journal on my phone whilst I’m waiting, and weirdly feeling very alone and very out of place. I write down the following as a note on my phone.

It’s an odd feeling and I do not like it. I want this to be over. I want to go home. I can not wait to leave this place. Let me get out of here, let me get out of here.

No.

Sigh. Take a deep breath. This is where I’m supposed to be.

I am here with my people and this is going to be good.

It turns out it was good, and I mostly enjoyed the meeting.

Afterwards, I cycled home again to give me a total of 9.33 miles.

8.59PM – HOME AND SKYPE WITH SAM

I get home and just a few minutes later Sami calls me on Skype, so I sit back and talk with her for a while. It’s good to hear her laugh and enjoy herself,

9.41PM – DINNER AND FINISH WATCHING ALWAYS SUNNY

My plan is to sit down now to eat some food and watch as much of It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia Season 12.

I stay up until about 12.30PM watching the rest of the series, and then fall asleep watching Mystery Science Theatre 3000.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY

Today was another good progress day. Plans may have changed very quickly this morning, but I made the most of my day and adapted. I’m ready to hit tomorrow without resorting to crashing on the sofa at the end of the day.

I’m ready to go all out on getting done what I need to get done this week, and I am looking forward to it.

Tomorrow is another day.

Leave a Reply

