Day 51

After going to bed at 1.50am last night (and falling asleep watching Mystery Science Theater 3000 on Netflix) I allowed myself to sleep in this morning, and woke up at 8.37am to the sound of my phone ringing.

It was just Dad wanting to ask me something.

I immediately went to the bathroom to get my dressing gown and slippers, and then to the kitchen to make tea and a hot water bottle. I still need to buy eggs, so I’m skipping breakfast for now.

I’m not saying that’s wise, only that it’s what I’m doing.

I sit down with my tea to get this journal started and make a TDL for the day.

9.04AM – WORK

Whilst I was checking my emails when making tea, I noticed that my social media proof reading client had sent me some posts to look over, so I decide that if I take care of that first, that’s my main priority over and out of the way for the week, so I get onto that now.

Whilst I’m on with that, I also email another client about scheduling in some work for later in the month, and chase another client who hasn’t paid an invoice for several weeks now.

9.57AM – GRATITUDE AND MEDITATION

I write in my gratitude journal about how grateful I am to love and be loved by others, and how I am grateful to have a sense of inner-peace and confidence today that isn’t defined by my relationship to others, my inclusion in a family unit or social group, but simply by how I feel, what I do, and the way I behave.

I then turn to the Five Minute Miracle meditation by Beyond Purpose that I did on Day 43.

This leaves me feeling uplifted and good, and ready to really get my day going.

10.27AM – BACK EXERCISES, TAI CHI, MEDS, AND SHOWER

I do the basic physio exercises I’m supposed to do to build relieve the pain and get my back to a normal, healthy state again, then I spend about 10 minutes practicing Tai Chi.

I do the Ten Step once over, then practice the bits of the 24 form that I know, paying particular attention to White Crane Spreads its Wings, and how that goes into Brush Knee.

I realise that I have still got a long way to go, but through regular practice I am starting to feel more confident with the basics, and I can build on this as time goes on.

After that, I brush my teeth, shave, shower, take my medication, and get dressed.

11.31AM – PICK UP LAUNDRY

Once I’m ready, I leave the house and head down to my parents to pick up the laundry that I left yesterday. They had left the TV on and the door unlocked, so I turn that off and lock up behind me and then head home.

11.51AM – HOME AND MAKE FOOD

By the time I get back, I realise I’m hungry. It’s one of those “use up shit in the freezer” days, so I end up with a handful of potato wedges and a single sausage.

Whilst that’s cooking, I take my recycling down.

When I get outside, there’s a weed that has grown high and bothers me greatly, so I pull it up.

In doing so, I find the wrap-around sunglasses that I thought I had lost at the Sunday night meeting.

They’re muddy and dirty from all the rain and such, but they are there, and all they need is a wipe down to be wholly perfect again.

12.23PM – TALK TO SAM

I sit down to eat my food, and plan on getting a few things done, but Sam calls, so instead I sit back and talk to her whilst eating my food.

She’s just about to get back on the road.

12.44PM – HEAD OUT TO DO FOOD SHOPPING

I need a few things today including:

  • Shower gel
  • Honey
  • Chicken
  • Vegetables
  • Spinach
  • Brown sugar or sweetener
  • Eggs

So I get myself together and head out the door.

I walk part of the way to get some exercise, then bus it the rest.

I get everything I needed, and somehow end up buying 40 eggs, meaning I’m probably well covered for a few weeks.

I also get something unhealthy for lunch and then head home.

2.25PM – HOME AND PUT SHOPPING AWAY

I get everything unpacked, then make a up of tea and turn the TV on.

2.36PM – FINISH WATCHING THE DISCOVERY AND NAP

This is the film that I started watching last night before I ended up on Skype with Sam. I decide I’m going to enjoy my unhealthy lunch, and sit down to finish watching it.

The film is OK, but I have to agree with some of the reviews which say that it is a great premise that fails to deliver.

When it’s over, I fall asleep on the sofa and take a nap.

5.23PM – WEEKLY REVIEW

secretofsuccess.png

This is usually favourite part of the week, and today is no different.

After waking up, I make tea and a fresh hot water bottle, stick some music in my ears, (Pearl Jam’s 2006 debut album, more of which later), and then I get down to reviewing my progress over the past week.

I’m a little disappointed that I didn’t smash this week like I thought I would, but instead achieved 38/50 weekly tasks for 7/10 weekly goals. What I can be proud of though is that I smashed my weekly cycling goal by 9.35 miles, and almost made both my money and writing goals.

With my full review done (on another private blog that I keep), I get on with planning my ten goals for the week ahead.

6.04PM – WEEKLY GOALS

This weeks goals are mostly focused on writing and business, they are:

  1. DAD’S GARDENING (BEING HELPFUL)
  2. PUBLISH FIVE PORTFOLIO POSTS (WRITING)
  3. CHANGE RPW GRAPHICS (WRITING)
  4. PUBLISH IYH BURIED ALIVE REVIEW (WRITING)
  5. LAUNCH HCL WEBSITE (BUSINESS)
  6. PUBLISH NEW PPH ADS (BUSINESS)
  7. SEND ALL IDEAS TO SHADAB (BUSINESS)
  8. SPEAK TO SAJID (BUSINESS)
  9. EDIT AND UPLOAD LONDON PICS (TRAVEL)
  10. TUNE GUITAR (CREATIVITY AND PASSION)

With that done, I break my ten weekly goals down into their individual component tasks, and make a list of 50 of those tasks which I will complete this week.

I also make my weekly chart which splits my goals into four main areas:

  • HEALTH
  • WEALTH
  • PASSION
  • PRACTICALITY.

.I stick this on my wall as a daily reminder to do at least one small task each day towards my big goals in each area.

6.52PM – DOCUMENT THE DISCOVERY AND PEARL JAM

My process and ideas for documenting all the albums I listen to and movies that I watch was first mentioned on Day 9. I spoke about it more on Day 24 and Day 44.

2017-05-06 19.25.25

Today, I go through that process by documenting my thoughts about the film I just watched today, as well as Pearl Jam’s 2006 self-titled album.

That takes a while, because I end up wandering and reading about both the film and the album and people associated with them, but hey, it’s done and ready for to move onwards.

8.03PM – KNEE ROLLS AND SHOWER

I’m feeling a little grotty now, so I go to do my second session of knee rolls, and then take a quick shower.

8.31AM – WORK ON PORTFOLIO BLOGS

Feeling better and fully refreshed, I sit down to spend at least an hour writing and adding new content to my writing portfolio.

I only got the one post done, at 625 words, but I felt it was a good one, and I’m happy with it. I can always do more tomorrow, for now I’m just to have got something done.

9.34PM – MAKE DINNER

This is the last point at which I can eat unhealthily before my program kicks back in tomorrow morning, so I am making the most of it with another pizza and crashing in front of Netflix again.

That’s the plan anyway. I’ve been swapping a few texts with Sam and there’s always the chance that she might call, but I’m still going to crash until she decides otherwise.

Whilst dinner is cooking, I get this journal up-to-date and get the TV ready.

9.53PM – CRASH ON THE SOFA AND DAY ENDS

With dinner ready I get on the sofa and attempt to watch a movie called PandorumPandorum, which I tried to watch once before but couldn’t finish.

I quickly realise why I couldn’t finish it last time; it is boring as hell.

I text Sam goodnight at 10.49PM and allow myself to just fall asleep on the sofa.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY

Another straight forward day with no problems or major challenges. I’m glad that I got the opportunity to take it easy today, but for now it must be back to full on work mode if I am to get to where I need to be in my life.

I enjoyed everything I did today without guilt, but tomorrow it must be back to action.

Leave a Reply

