Day 50

I legitimately can’t believe that I’ve kept this thing up for an entire 50 days. Anyway, after going to bed at 12.23AM last night and probably falling asleep sometime around 1am, I woke up at 6am this morning, then went back to sleep for another half an hour. 

At 6.31am, I got up and went to the kitchen to make tea and prepare a hot water bottle. I have run out of eggs, so no omelette today, but I will make myself something for breakfast when I head to my parents shortly, and pick up more eggs when I go to town to meet with Jen tomorrow morning.

I waste a few minutes catching up on a few websites and browsing through Twitter, then at 6.52AM, I put together my daily TDL.

6.56AM – PACK A LAUNDRY BAG

I make a second cup of tea, and whilst I’m doing that, I get a bag of laundry ready to take down for washing.

7.09AM – GRATITUDE AND MEDITATION

Today, I mostly write about grateful I am for simply being able to make ends meet in today’s competitive world. Money is not the goal for me, but even I know that I need to have enough, and the good news is that someway, somehow, the universe always gives me enough.

Accepting this fact, I am able to completely give myself to the abundance meditation I found on Day 46.

There is something different about it this morning, something that allows me to completely give myself over to this meditation mind, body, spirit, and soul. I find distractions fleeting and vague, and the meditation as a whole consuming me.

I feel loved, happy, and aware of just how blessed I am, which is of course, the point.

7.25AM – BACK STRETCHES, SHOWER, AND MEDICATION

I don’t do any Tai Chi today, because I figure that the sun is out, the weather is nice, and I’ll be at my parents, so hopefully I can find some time whilst I’m there to go over the 24 form a couple of times and keep up with things.

I shave, shower, brush my teeth, and get dressed into some scruffy clothes because when I get there, I have a job to do for my Dad that he asked me to do a few weeks ago.

7.57AM – CHECK EMAIL

I’m expecting a few bits and pieces to come in from clients today, so I decide to check that before I leave. With nothing coming in, I get my bag, my sunglasses, and my phone, and head down to mum & dad’s for the morning.

8.01AM – LEAVE FOR PARENTS

I get down there and spend a few minutes talking to my brother’s girlfriend, who has kindly picked me up three boxes of the chamomile tea that I love and that I haven’t beena ble to find anywhere.

I want to do laundry, but can’t because of the guy coming to do the sink. Should I have already thought about this? Is this obvious and somehow I just missed thinknig about it? I don’t know, and I’m not going to worry myself over it either.

8.30 – GET STARTED ON THE GARDEN 

A few weeks back, Dad asked me to pull up the weeds and tufts of grass growing between the flags in his back garden, so now is the perfect time to do that whilst Nat is still home and we’re waiting on the guy to come and do the kitchen.

9.21AM – MAKE BREAKFAST AND WATCH TV 

Natalie leaves for work, so I decide it’s best if I go inside in case the sink guy comes. Whilst I’m there, I treat myself to cheese and ham on toast and a cup of tea, then sit down to watch an episode of American Dad on catch-up TV.

You only have to go back through any date over the past 50 days to see how infrequently I actually sit down to watch TV, so this is very rare for me and I’m allowed to do it and enjoy it, guilt-free.

10.10 – WRITE PORTFOLIO BLOGS

The guy finally comes to fix the sink but he takes hours so I just spend the time working on two more blogs for my portfolio to make that another job done for the day. 

These two posts took a lot of research and needed things doing, so that’s why they took a while. 

Then, once I was finally done, it is time to get on with work. 

1.23PM – WORK ON HCL WEBSITE 

I still have content to write for the website that I was working on this Monday, so whilst the sink guy is still here, I grab a few sheets of paper and draft some copy.

1.54PM – BACK TO GARDEN

Eventually, the sink guy leaves, so I abandon what I’m doing and head back outside to finish weeding the garden. Fortunately, this doesn’t take long.

2017-05-05 15.10.40

Whilst I’m doing that, Jen texts to ask if I want to go for a walk after we meet to discuss work tomorrow. I don’t really want to, but at the same time I remember that I must be open to new experiences, and I also remember how long I worked on manifesting this. So, after a long time deliberating, I finally agree. 

It’s also during this period that I take advantage and put my washing on.

2.25PM – RUN A BATH 

With the garden done, I run a bath because these are always good for my bad back and I don’t get to take them very often since I don’t have a bath at home.

Whilst the bath is running, I exchange messages with Sam who is on the road today driving to visit family for the weekend. A friend of mine also calls me up to talk about some problems he’s having at home.

It’s nice to be the person people turn to, but this isn’t about me, and I pray that my friend -along with others who have had some bad news- get all love, support, strength and happy endings they deserve.

3.32PM – PACK UP AND HEAD HOME

My washing is done, so I hang most of it out to dry and bring home the sweat pants that I want to wear for my bike ride tonight. They go over the radiator when I get home.

I put the laptop away, tidy up after myself, and walk home.

3.56PM – GRAB WATER, SIT DOWN AND REST

Now that I’m home I can take my dirty clothes off, put them in the laundry basket, grab a glass of fresh, cool water, and sit down to update this journal.

I swap a few texts with Jen too. She has had to cancel our plans for the weekend, which is fine with me.

4.26PM – ADD PICS TO PORTFOLIO BLOG

Earlier, I needed to add some pictures to my portfolio blog that are still on my phone, so now that I’m home, I can take care of that.

That took me the better part of an hour, simply because I couldn’t quite decide which photo to use. In the end, I found myself using this awesome shot that I took in Manchester last month

David Bowie Manchester Northern Quarter (588x800)

5.22PM – CHAT WITH SAM ON PHONE

Sam is busy all day today still travelling, but I’m glad that she took time out to give me a quick call, just so I could hear her voice.

5.43PM – WORK ON ADS

When Sam hangs up, I start getting some prep work ready for some advertising I need to do for my business. I won’t actually do the ads, but it’s good to get started.

6.23PM – GET READY FOR MEETING

Eventually I realise I have to give that up to and get started on getting ready for the AA meeting.

I do that that, and then ….

6.31PM – SET OFF FOR THE MEETING

It’s my job to open up tonight so I need to get there a little earlier than normal. I do what I’ve been asked to do then I sit back and enjoy the meeting. It is good and I’m glad I am there.

When it’s over, I get back on my bike and cycle home, taking the long route via the canal because I am in no rush to get home with no Sam to spend time with today. That journey adds 6 miles to my total.

That makes for a grand weekly total of 38.85 miles, almost 10 miles over my total.

9.43 – NETFLIX AND CHILL BY MYSELF

I haven’t watched Netflix for long, but with what I imagine to be plenty of time to myself this week and a few rare nights with my own company, I restart my subscription, get a pizza, and go to crash for the night…

At least that was the plan…

10.10PM – SKYPE WITH SAM

Instead, Sam calls me via Skype just as I’m crashed on the sofa, so instead I get up and spend time with her, which in my opinion is a way better use of my evening.

Eventually we’re both tired -me because its late and Sam because she’s been driving all day- and we head to bed at 1.50am.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY

I’m a little disappointed that I didn’t achieve everything I wanted to achieve this week, especially as I was so convinced that I would, and that today would be the day when I wrapped things up, but I think I spent my time constructively or at least wisely, even if wisely does mean time to myself to relax and unwind.

Tonight I rest.

Tomorrow, it is back to the grind, kicking ass, completing goals, and smashing targets.

I can not wait.

Leave a Reply

