Day 48

After I went to bed around 1.30am I drifted asleep easily and woke up seven hours later at 8.24am. 

I was out of milk, so I got dressed and went to the shop to buy some, then began my usual routine of making a three-egg-and-spinach omelette with chia seeds, pepper, and a dash of paprika, making a cup of tea, and preparing a hot water bottle.

Then I sat down to first spend a few minutes catching up on Twitter and seeing what was going on in the world, and then making my TDL for the day.

By 9.05am, I was ready to get my day going properly.

9.05AM – QUICK WORK TASK

Whilst I was in my emails, I noticed two things:

  1. My client had asked me to proof read a social media post for him
  2. The client I was having issues with yesterday has paid.

So I quickly take care of those things, and getting that money processed is another weekly goal done for me. Then I go to make another cup of tea and start with gratitude and meditation.

9.18AM – GRATITUDE AND MEDITATION

Writing in my gratitude journal today leads me to thinking about doubt, and how I need to let go of it. I know that everything always works out for me, but sometimes when faced with adversity I doubt that.

I find a “letting go” meditation on Youtube because I want to let go of that doubt and of several other negative thoughts about people, places, and things that are tugging me away from my peace.

 

I enjoyed the calming effect of this one, and would love to return to it again.

9.43AM – BACK STRETCHES, MEDS, AND SHOWER

Even though I have Tai Chi class later, I still need to do my physio stretches, so I go and make that a work out, then shower, shave, brush my teeth, and get dressed.

10.14AM – GO AND PICK UP VACUUM

With that done, I enjoy a walk in the sunshine down to my parents, pick up the vacuum cleaner and head back home to finally give my rugs a proper vacuum over.

10.36AM – VACUUM

I waste no time in getting started. The minute I land at home, the vacuum cleaner goes on and I give my kitchen, hallway, and living room a vigorous and thorough cleaning.

I’d like to do more, to give my bedroom and bathroom a going over, and to also take care of the carpet in the communal hallway/stairs of the building I live in, but the battery pack runs out, so I decide that I have done enough today, and can comeback to this another day.

12.12PM – TAKE VACUUM BACK

Another short walk in the sunshine gets me back to my parents to drop off the vacuum cleaner and put the battery on charge.

On the way back, I stop downstairs to get my electricity meter reading, I am going to need that.

12.40PM – GRAB WATER

When I was fit, healthy, and doing well, I was drinking plenty of water. Then my depression kicked in a few months ago, and I barely wanted to be alive, let alone keep myself healthy.

So water went out the window, and even in the past 40+ days of my recovery, I find that I have been predominantly drinking tea and fizzy soda, neither of which are all that great.

I resolve to drink at least two pints of water a day, and figure this out thus:

2 liters = 4.23 pints

Ergo, if I drink four and half pint glasses of water per day, I’ve got that covered.

To make sure I do this, I put a piece of paper and pen next to my water jug. I will mark off each day how many glasses I drink.

12.45PM – FINISH HOBBY BLOG

Once I’ve got my water, I spend a few minutes working on updating this journal, then I get on with the next task at hand; finishing that blog post that I’ve been working on for the last few days.

I get that done to add 4,612 words to my total and also to complete another weekly goal, meaning I’m now half way through the week with 4/10 goals completed.

1.44PM – WALK TO THE SHOP FOR CASH AND LUNCH

I need £20 in cash for my Tai Chi class later, so I take a walk up to the mini-mart where the only ATM for a few miles is. I take out the money I need and head into the shop to buy something for lunch.

I end up with a chicken sandwich on wholemeal bread, and also get a steal on some roasted chicken thing that was reduced from over£5 to £1.50. I get that too and bring it home to have for dinner tonight.

2017-05-03 14.27.23.jpg

2.26PM – CATCH UP WITH SAM

By the time I get back, Sam is up and about, so we catch up whilst we both get on with getting our own stuff done, for me, that means having a breather and then starting some work.

2.42PM – WORK

I’ve been working on a website for my friend Ruth for a long time, and just waiting on her to ask her domain registrar to point the domain in the right place. Now that this is done, I can start migrating the site from dev to live, this starts today.

3.13PM – NAP

At least, it kind of does. I get the basic steps done, but there’s been a fog lingering over my brain for several hours now, so I finally allow myself to sleep, setting an alarm for one hour so that I don’t overdo it.

I go to bed, doze into a gentle sleep and feel good, then I make a cup of tea and get right back to it.

4.26PM – BACK TO WORK

With everything set up I get on to the part of this job that is boring but easy – content migration.

I work solidly, and could have done a lot more, but I’m aware that time is running out before I have to go to Tai Chi, so I call time on work for now and go and get freshened up and ready.

6.27PM – SHOWER

A quick shower and change into my comfy clothes. Sam calls just as I’m getting ready to head out, so I chat with her whilst I finish getting dressed.

6.50PM – HEAD TO TAI CHI

When I’m ready, I head out the door and get to my Tai Chi class.

Favourite part of the week, off to look after #mindbodysoul at #taichi for an hour 🙂

A post shared by Chris Skoyles (@chrisskoyles) on

We’re still learning the 24 form, and I’m still enjoying it. Every week I feel myself growing in confidence and ability.

8.11PM – MAKE DINNER

After class, I head straight home and get to work on making three of the chicken thighs that I bought earlier, saving two for tomorrow. I make some veg, and whilst dinner is cooking I get the dishes washed, and take some pain medication because my back is really hurting today.

8.48PM – EAT DINNER, NOTES FOR NEW HOBBY BLOG

With dinner ready,  I sit down to make notes on a new hobby blog, all whilst enjoying the food. I don’t actually get any writing done, but I do at least make a start.

9.31PM – TIME WITH SAM

Sam is back and forth tonight doing bits and pieces, but we get what time we can together, then come close to 1am, I find myself simply too exhausted to stay up any later and head to bed.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY

Another progress day, I can feel things moving forward in the right direction, I can feel progress being made, and I know that everything is going to work out.

I may only have two days left this week, but I am going to make the most of them and do what I need to do to succeed.

Tomorrow is another day.

Leave a Reply

