Day 44

I’ve got a lot to do today and I’m a bit resentful about it because it means getting up early when I could have otherwise enjoyed laying asleep for a lot longer.

Instead, I drag myself up at 8.10am, make tea and breakfast and sit down to get started. I make a daily TDL and even start half of my weekly TDL.

I normally leave that until after I’ve planned out my exact goals, but I know that there’s so much to do that it can go on the weekly list just so that I can dump my mind out.

I waste some time reading up on the internet and browsing through Twitter, then it’s time to get my day started.

9.01AM – GRATITUDE AND MEDITATION

There is a part of me that believes I don’t actually have time for this and is rushing me on, but there is an even greater part of me that knows this is my secret to staying calm today.

I use my gratitude journal to note down all the positive benefits that I will gain from being busy and helping others today, and then use the same meditation as yesterday to slow my breathing and get into some good head space.

 

9.15AM – GET JEN’S CONTENT TOGETHER

Talk about leaving things to the last minute, Jen is coming to pick me up later and we’re going to do some work on her business profile, which means I’m supposed to have pictures and a few brief lines of copy for her bio together.

Guess who has neither?

Knowing that I need to remain calm today, I put on this music:

 

And then I get started.

Thankfully, that doesn’t take long, and I can move onto the next thing on my list for today, which is basically getting a shower and getting ready to go out.

9.42AM – SHOWER AND GET DRESSED

I’m in a bit of a hurry, but I take care of the essentials; getting showered, shaving, and brushing my teeth, then I change into jeans and a nice shirt, knowing that I’m supposed to be working with Jen at her mother’s house, and wanting to make a good impression. Don’t ask me why, I just do.

10.04AM – WALK DOWN TO PARENTS

I’m running an errand for my brother and his girlfriend this morning, and that means I have to go down to my parents to pick up a parcel delivery card and his girlfriend’s ID.

Whilst I’m doing that anyway, I pack up a bag of washing and take that down there. I put it on to wash, grab the stuff that I need, and then head out the door.

10.17AM – GO TO PICK UP BROTHER’S PARCEL

This involves going to the parcel depot in town that I didn’t even know existed, because all parcels that come to me go to the one in a different town further away – stupid how the postal code system works – so I go there to do as I’ve been asked to do.

It takes me about 45 minutes, and I discover that the journey is actually really pleasant and picturesque, somewhere I’d like to come with my camera some time. So Now, even though I’m still rushing around because I know I have to get back to meet Jen, I’m actually quite glad I went.

At 11am, my brother rings me for the second time this morning (the first to check that I hadn’t forgotten he’d asked me to do him a favour just the night before), and asks that when I take them back to my parents house for him, if I can open everything up and call him back so he can take stock.

11.35AM – CHANGE PLANS WITH JEN

Earlier in the morning, I had text Jen and asked if we could push our plans back by just half an hour, meeting at 12.30 instead of 12. She asked if we should do 1 instead, and I agreed. then, just as I was leaving my parents house, I got another text from her asking if I wanted to leave it til tomorrow instead.

That, I figured, meant she had other plans. Whilst I was little peeved at having rushed around for no reason this morning, I had to agree that it was for the best.

Having the rest of the day to myself now would allow me to do the weekly and monthly goal planning I have to do this weekend, and to put a little more effort into the profile copy I quickly bashed together for her this morning.

11.48AM – HOME AND RELAX

I get home, make tea and a new hot water bottle for my back, change into some comfier clothes then sit down to update this journal. With that done, it’s onto the goal review and setting for both this week and the month of April.

12.15PM – WEEKLY AND MONTHLY GOAL REVIEW

goalsandpassion.jpg

It doesn’t seem like five minutes since April 1st when I was sitting down to plan goals for the week, month, and quarter, but here I am, already reviewing those April goals and setting new ones for May.

First though, there’s the weekly stuff to take care of.

My soundtrack for this work is the awesome One With The Universe by Samsara Blues Experiment.

 

I feel like this was a good week over all, with 42/50 weekly tasks done for 8/10 goals complete.

Obviously it would be better if I could complete 50/50 and 10/10, but I am figuring out new ways to do that, new ways to work harder and better and smarter and actually get to where I want to be in my life. So, I will take this as a sign that I am moving things in the right direction, especially as it’s a step-up from last week.

Reviewing the final week of the month now gives me what I need to review the month as a whole, so I do that next.

My journal entry for day 16 has good overview of how I manage, plan, and review my monthly goals.

April went by in the blink of an eye, and I still can’t believe it’s over, but I did enjoy this month. Even though I didn’t hit my targets, hitting targets is not the point of life, enjoying it is. I enjoyed it, and made good progress at the same time. This is what I achieved this month:

  • Words written: 17,790 (target: 29,522)
  • Hours worked: 48 hours, 1 minute
  • Money Made: £979.95 (target: £3613)
  • Miles Cycled 77.89 (target: 104)
  • Monthly goals complete: 18/30

Financially that was a terrible month. This is what I mean when I say my inability to be motivated by money often is to my detriment. Remember:

Money is the thing that will help me achieve my goals, it is not the goal itself.

I will make a more concentrated effort to grow my business, and my finances in the weeks ahead.

Top Ten Achievements in April

  1. START PHYSIO (HEALTH)
  2. GOT ALL FEB FRIDAY PORTFOLIO BLOGS DONE (WRITING)
  3. LAUNCHED RPW FB (WRITING)
  4. GOT BOTH MONTHLY RPW POSTS DONE (WRITING)
  5. PHOTOGRAPHED MANCHESTER (TRAVEL)
  6. MADE BASIC HCL WEBSITE (BUSINESS)
  7. LAUNCHED A BASIC HCL SITE -NEEDS FINISHING – (BUSINESS)
  8. MADE FULL LIST OF PRICES FOR ALL BRANDS (BUSINESS)
  9. REFORMATTED TV LAPTOP (HOME AND FINANCE)
  10. FIXED BIG PRINTER (HOME LIFE AND FINANCIAL SECURITY)

1.15PM – MONTHLY GOALS AND WEEKLY GOAL PLANNING

With April reviewed, I am now in a better position to start planning goals and targets for May.

Again, Day 16 gives a good overview of my thought process behind this.

My targets for May are:

  • WORDS: 35,388
  • INCOME: £4,930
  • MILES: 118 miles

I determined these by subtracting the amounts I achieved in April from the overall target I set for Quarter 2 (April, May, June), and then dividing that by the two remaining months.

With that done, I get on with planning a total of 30 goals in seven categories, which are:

  1. Sobriety and Spirituality
  2. Health
  3. Writing
  4. Business
  5. Finance and Home Life
  6. Creativity and Passions
  7. Travel.

Most of my goals this month fall under Writing and Business which is fine – passion and making a living/looking after myself. Yes, I can deal with that.

With a list of big monthly goals done, I can now break those down into small goals, starting with just ten goals for this week.

I set my weekly goals next, and they are:

  1. GET HYDER’S INVOICE PAID (BUSINESS / FINANCE)
  2. FINISH RUTH’S WEBSITE AND GET INVOICE OUT (BUSINESS/FINANCE)
  3. HELP JEN WITH WEBSITE/LINKED IN (BUSINESS)
  4. GET ALL CONTENT DONE FOR HCL (BUSINESS)
  5. GET PPH ADDS REVAMPED (BUSINESS)
  6. CASH JEN’S CHECK (FINANCE AND HOME LIFE)
  7. SORT OUT BRITISH GAS BILL (FINANCE AND HOME LIFE)
  8. WRITE 5 PORTFOLIO POSTS (WRITING)
  9. FINISH IYH MIND GAMES (WRITING)
  10. EDIT AND ORGANISE LONDON TRAVEL PICS (TRAVEL)

2.10PM – TURN LAUNDRY OVER

I’ve still got more work to do on goal planning and setting, but I also want to take a break from the computer. I know that my laundry will have finished washing by now, so I head down to my parents to put it out to dry and also put a second load on.

I do that, let the dog out and spend a few minutes with him, then head back to finish doing what I need to get done today.

2.47PM – WEEKLY TASK LIST AND CHART

Now that I’ve got my weekly goals together, it’s time to break those down into 50 actionable tasks, which I put down on my Weekly To Do List (TDL).

As I mentioned last week, I also create a weekly chart, which outlines the four main areas of my life:

  1. HEALTH
  2. WEALTH
  3. PASSION
  4. PRACTICALITY.

Every day, I aim to do one thing, no matter how small, which pushes me towards achieving all my goals in those four areas.

Putting these two documents together the “old school” way using pen and paper gives me a chance to really think about what I’m doing and to plan properly.

2017-04-29 15.15.45

Whilst I do this bit, I go back to listening to Pearl Jam’s Yield, which I’ve been listening to a lot lately.

 

3.20PM – NAP

Having done all my goal setting, I’m allowed a quick nap before it’s on with actually starting to achieve those goals.

I had a good doze for an hour, and was surprised it was only an hour because it felt like I’d been down for a lot longer.

I woke feeling refreshed, made some tea, and got ready to get on with things.

4.26PM – PHONE CHAT WITH SAM

I’m only up for a few minutes when Sam calls, so I sit and catch up with her and we share about each other’s day. Then Sam goes to make food for her family, and I get on with the next thing for me.

5.03PM – GO TO COLLECT LAUNDRY

It looks like it is going to rain, so I go back down to my parents to collect my laundry from there. The washing isn’t quite dry yet, but it’s nothing I can’t solve by putting things on the radiators here at home.

My brother and his girlfriend are home, so I spend time talking to them and then head home, where admittedly I juts waste time scrolling through Twitter for a while. Clearly “getting on with things” is not going very successfully for me today.

5.51PM – TIME WITH SAM

Sam stops by to take care of a few things so I hang out with her whilst getting not much done myself.

6.04PM – DOCUMENT PEARL JAM – YIELD

Back on Day 9, and again on Day 24, I mentioned how I always document the albums and movies I watch and listen to by writing a small review and charting them on my private goal blog.

2017-04-29 18.13.29

So, after listening to Pearl Jam’s Yield for a few weeks, it’s time to give that the same treatment.

That took me the best part of an hour, but only because I was talking with Sam and my friend Jayde online at the same time.

6.55PM – TIME WITH SAM

I’m starting to get really hungry but I’m still talking with Sam, so I just relax andgive her all the time she needs until she has gto go take care of her family. Then I get myself together and get something to eat.

7.36PM – DINNER

I feel like I’m all over the place today and haven’t really been able to get grounded. I make some unhealthy food, and whilst I’m doing that, I give the place a run over with the handheld vacuum cleaner that I borrowed from my parents, and also put the first load of laundry away that I brought back from there earlier.

8.11PM – WORK ON HOBBY BLOG

With dinner ready, I sit down to start on one of this week’s goals, finishing a new blog post for my hobby blog.

I get a good chunk of paragraphs done, but I’ve still got a long way to go. Not now though, because by the time I’m done, it’s time once again to walk down to my parents and check on the dog.

9.05PM – CHECK ON THE DOG

I head down there, let the dog out and play at chasing him around the garden for a few minutes, let him do what he’s gotta do and just give him some time.

Whilst I’m there, I also clean up a bit after my brother and his girlfriend. They left cheese out to go stale and the iron on and a few other bits and pieces messed around, so I quickly tidy up and then head back.

9.51PM – BACK STRETCHES AND SHOWER

I haven’t heard from Sam yet though I expect to soon. I have however, reminded myself many times this evening that I haven’t yet done any back stretches or any form of exercise at all, so whilst I’m waiting for her, I go ahead and do that next.

10.25PM – PLAN TUESDAY’S DJ SET

I’ve got some time to kill, and an online DJ set to do on Tuesday, so I spend a while compiling a playlist for that.

 

10.57PM – TIME WITH SAM

Sam is finally done with what she’s got going on, so we get together and have some time together. I’m grateful for every precious second of this.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY

Today was one of those days when I feel like a pinball trapped in a box that some hyper-active child is thrashing around – as if the box is my life, the kid is the universe at large, and both are making it known -very visibly known- that I am not in control.

It was like a day of having to constantly readjust myself to what is going on around me. I can take some solace though from the act that despite this, I got done everything I needed to do.

Tomorrow is a new day, and most of it will be taken up with Jen.

One thought on “Day 44

Leave a Reply

