Day 43

After going to bed after 1am last night, I got my full eight hours sleep and woke up at 9.08am. 

First things first, I checked in on Sam, then headed straight into the kitchen to make breakfast, a cup of tea, and a hot water bottle for my back.

Then I came here, sat down with my omelette and ate it whilst looking over my goals and planning out a TDL for the day.

Today is the last day of the last week in April. Over the weekend, I’ll be planning out a whole new series of goals for May, so I need to do what I can today to make this day count and finalize any goals that are outstanding but that I could reasonably finish off.

9.43AM – GRATITUDE AND MEDITATION

Though I’m anxious to get started, I must remember what brought me here in the first place, and that writing in my gratitude journal and taking the time out to meditate are what helped me along to get here. So I start my day with that.

Today, I write about how grateful I am for Sam and I being able to move forward.

Then I decide I want to do something different for my meditation, and try this:

This is a really wonderful one, reminding me that when I worry, I manifest the things I worry about, and when I imagine things going well, they do. I love this, and will return to it again some time.

9.59AM – TAI CHI, BACK STRETCHES, SHOWER, MEDICATION

All the usual stuff is done and taken care of. I find myself making a few mistakes with the Beijing 10 step, and I don’t know why that is. I’ve been doing this for a while now, and I should be getting better, not worse.

But, I’m not going to beat myself up over it. It is what it is. I will just keep going.

10.38PM – WORK

First work task today is to finish outlining a new price list for all the freelance services I offer.

Often times, I’ve been guilty of just charging what I think the client can afford without laying it down first. If I am going to be successful in business, I need to have well defined prices before hand, along with the freedom to be flexible where it’s appropriate.

I have always believed in this value, that I wrote down countless times:

Money is the thing that will help me to achieve my goals. It is not the goal itself. I am not motivated by money, but nor should I be burdened by it.

I’m too often guilty of following the first part – that it’s not a motivator – but ending up being stuck with the second and being burdened financially. I’ve made a conscious effort that this year is going to be different, and now that I am -pray to God- fully over the bout of depression that kicked my ass in the first part of the year, it’s time for me to get motivated again, to become more confident in charging what I’m worth, and in making good progress with my business.

Given that I technically run 4 different small, freelance brands, that took me a while to do, but I’m happy with the progress I made, and can now begin moving forward on this.

Getting that done also means that I’ve clocked off the fifth weekly goal for this week, so not bad going.

12.26PM – MORE WORK

Whilst I was working on my prices, my client sent me a bunch of social media posts to proof read, so I tackle that next just to get it out of the way and off my mind.

That took me only half an hour, and that included a few minutes on the phone when mum called and asked me to keep an eye on the dog because they were away for the weekend.

12.53PM – CLEAN FLAT

I’ve still got things I want to do at my computer, but I also really want to take a break from it, so I give myself an hour or so to go around my home and make sure things are clean and tidy.

I set a timer for one hour because that’s as much time as I’m prepared to spend cleaning.

In this time, I finally get the TV laptop fully reformatted. I wash dishes, wipe the kitchen worktops, sweep and wipe the kitchen, hallway and living room floor, clean and tidy my desk and straighten the cushions on the sofa.

2.03PM – NAP

I feel myself getting droopy, so I lay down and set an alarm for one hour to wake me up again. I dozed off, but didn’t get a proper good sleep. I’m not that worried about it, I feel like I got the rest I needed today, and can safely get on with things again.

3.04PM – WAKE UP

I woke up on time and spent a few minutes lying around, replying to a text from my friend Ruth, and making tea. I yawn, stretch, and get another hot water bottle made up, then it’s time to get back to it.

3.25PM – WORK

My client sends me more social media posts to proof, so I tackle those first before I do anything else.

3.35PM – WORK ON MEDIUM ARTICLE

With that out of the way, I tackle my next big priority, finishing the Medium article I started writing the other day.

I spent a good chunk of time on that, and might have got things done quicker except Sam called for a chat, so I was talking to her whilst writing.

I did get the article finished though. It’s called:

Five Things Nobody Told Me Would Happen When I Quit Smoking

fivethings

Completing that adds another 1,558 words to my total, and gives me another weekly goal and another monthly goal that is now complete.

5.58PM – WALK TO PARENTS AND BACK

I could do with some fresh air, so I quickly get dressed and walk down to my parents’ to let the dog out. I also borrow their handheld vacuum cleaner whilst they’re away for the weekend because I’m going to give this flat a more thorough clean than what I can do with just a sweeping brush.

6.38PM – GET READY FOR AA MEETING

With that done, I get ready to go whilst talking to Sam on the phone, then set off just before seven.

6. 54PM – HEAD TO MEETING

I rarely enjoy Friday meetings any more, and this was no exception, but I went there and went through the motions. The only good thing about it was catching up with my friends Steve and Graham.

That part I enjoyed.

9.35PM – CRASH ON THE SOFA

Sam is busy with her family tonight, so I take a rare chance to just crash out on the sofa and do absolutely nothing, just eat my Friday pizza and veg. I’m allowed to do this every now and again, but only every now and again.

I go to bed about 12.40AM after catching up with Sam for a few minutes when she gets home.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY

Genuinely thought that was OK. I got a few things wrapped up and made some good progress. Now all I’ve got to do is keep it up throughout the next few days. Success is about consistency, I must remember that.

2 thoughts on “Day 43

Leave a Reply

