Day 41

After going to bed at 1.28am last night, it was a good while before I drifted off, so I was a little dismayed to learn that it was only six am by the time I got out of bed and drew back the curtains.

I lay around wondering if I Could doze back off, but gave up half an hour later and was up and about by 6.29AM.

I make tea, breakfast, and a hot water bottle, then immediately start talking to Sam. She’s having trouble sleeping too, so I spend the first hour of my day talking to her whilst eating breakfast and getting my daily TDL together.

7.37AM – GRATITUDE AND MEDITATION

I use this meditation this morning, and lie down for it.

I’m almost tempted to fall back asleep I find myself so relaxed, but I know I’ve got stuff to do, so I bargain with myself.

If I can stay awake and active from now until lunch time, then I can take as long a nap as I need.

8.14AM – BACK STRETCHES AND SHOWER

I have my Tai Chi class later, so I don’t need to overdo my morning exercises, but I do need to keep on top of them. Knee rolls, leg stretches and planking are the order of the day here, so I get those done next.

You know, I’ve been doing these back stretches for a while now, and it only just occurred to me today that if I set a timer on my phone, I can better measure how long I’m holding each stretch for rather than trying to count to 30 in my head and then losing count.

I also realise today that my physiotherapist keeps telling me to do knee rolls a couple of times a day, and I haven’t been doing, so I’ll have to up my game there.

8.56AM – TAKE LAUNDRY

I realise that I don’t have any clean sweatpants for Tai Chi later, so I pack a laundry bag and head down to my parents to put the washing on. Doing this, I figure, will give me a nice break between what I’ve done this morning and work.

It will give me the headspace I need to better attack work this morning, so I do that next.

9.24AM – WORK

I’ve got a target today of four articles to write. Let’s see how well I can get this done.

I also get some social media posts to proof read from a client, so I take care of those first before getting on with the writing.

I use the same writing playlist that I used for writing that article yesterday to do this work.

I get two articles done pretty swiftly, helped a lot by the planning and research I did last week.

I start to feel a layer of fog cloud over my brain, but I decide that I’m going to stick with it, at least until I’ve done the other two articles.

11.15AM – GO AND TURN LAUNDRY OVER

Going back down to my parents to take the laundry out of the washing machine and put it out to dry isn’t just something that needs to be done, it’s a chance to give my head a break and attempt to shift some of the fog before I attack the last two pieces.

By the time I get back, I wouldn’t say I was entirely successful, but I feel prepared and ready to get back to it.

11.46AM – BACK TO WORK

The last two articles are easier than I thought, mostly because I did much of the work last week and simply had to fill in the details.

I proof read these so that I’m happy there’s no mistakes and send them over.

All in all that was a total of 2 hours, 32 minutes work today, and another weekly goal completed, so I’ve completed four weekly goals with two and a half days left to go.

12.34PM – NAP

The fog is back and it’s back strong, so I allow myself to take the nap I said I could have once I’d finished all my work.

I just didn’t realise that I’d be out for the count for the better part of two and a half hours.

This is not laziness, this is only getting around five hours sleep of an evening and making up for it by allowing my body to get the rest it needs and I deserves.

3.03PM – PROCESS PAYMENT

Whilst I’m sleeping, a client sends me a payment of £53 for some of the work I’ve done for them, so when I get up from my nap, I make a cup of tea, update this journal, then process that payment to put that money into my account.

I also update my daily tracker chart to keep tabs on how many hours I’ve worked and how much I’ve been paid.

3.23PM – GO TO PICK UP LAUNDRY

I quickly run down and grab my laundry, happy to see that it’s fully dry and ready for me to wear for my Tai Chi class in a few hours.

3.44PM – WORK ON ARTICLE WRITING

Yesterday, I mentioned how I had planned to publish two posts per month on Medium.com and published the first one for April yesterday.

That article was called Quitting Smoking Was Harder Than Recovering from Alcohol Addiction.

Today, I’ve got to start planning a new one.

I don’t have to think too long about what to write about.

At the start of the year I made a huge spreadsheet calendar containing article titles and topics for all the things I wanted to write about on all my chosen platforms from January 1st to December 31st.

I don’t have to stick rigidly to it. If I find there is something else I would rather write about (given that life so frequently changes), I allow myself the flexibility to write about that instead.

It does however mean that, on moments like now, when I don’t have a clear idea of what to write about, I can just turn to my calendar, pick a title, and get after it.

Planning writing like this, for me, means getting away from the distractions of a computer and going back to basics with pen and paper, so I grab my pad, headphones and a cup of tea, light two incense sticks (I’m still convinced these are the reasons I’ve been coughing so much), and get started.

I actually get on pretty good with drafting the article that I want to write, but as I go along, I start to feel both a little grotty and a little hungry, so I put writing on hold for the time being to go take a shower and make some food.

4.53PM – TAKE A SHOWER AND MAKE FOOD

I take a quick shower, and contemplate doing more knee rolls like I’m supposed to, but I know that I also have Tai Chi shortly so that will count as extra back exercises.

I go into the kitchen and make a small plate of chicken, broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots. It looks -and tastes- delicious, and I kick myself for ignoring such yummy food over the past few days.

2017-04-26 17.24.29

5.24PM – WORK ON HOBBY BLOG

Whilst I’m eating dinner, I sit down for a few minutes to make some progress on next week’s post for my hobby blog. It’s only a short couple of paragraphs, but in the long run, it makes a difference.

5.58PM – RESTORE MY TV LAPTOP TO FACTORY SETTINGS

I have a laptop connected to my TV that I Occasionally use for watching movies and gaming.

Th only problem is that this laptop was given to me by my brother who treats his tech poorly, so it’s long overdue a complete cleanup.

With a bit of free time of free time on my hands, I sit down to restore it to factory default settings before getting ready for my Tai Chi class.

6.30PM – PUT LAUNDRY AWAY

I still have some time, so I put away the laundry that I brought home earlier and spend a few minutes walking around generally making sure the place is tidy before I get out the door.

6.45PM – HEAD TO TAI CHI CLASS

I enjoyed Tai Chi tonight. We finally learned White Crane Spreads its Wings, which is the one move I’d totally forgotten how to do since we switched from learning the 24 form to the 10 step form at the start of the year.

Now that we’re back to 24, it was good to remember that one missing piece of the puzzle so that now I can start putting things together again.

8.10PM – MAKE DINNER

I got home and made dinner, again just using up the crap that is in my freezer.

8.28PM – WORK ON HOBBY BLOG SOME MORE

With dinner made, I sat down to eat some potato waffles, onion rings, and baked beans and jot down a few notes for my hobby blog until Sam called, then it was time to turn my nite over to her.

9.10PM – TIME WITH SAM

My night ends as it normally does, with spending some quality time with Sam. Sadly we get into a fight – this happens with couples all around the world so I’m not going to act like this is some major disaster and that we are some how special, but I will certainly do all that i can to make things right.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY

A day that started off well with lots of progress being made, and then ended badly with a big fight with Sam. I’ll take the good and try to atone for the bad tomorrow.

One thought on “Day 41

Leave a Reply

