Day 37

I make myself sleep in until my alarm goes off at 8.45am this morning, then saunter into the kitchen to make tea. 

I also get a hot water bottle together because my back pain is at an all time shooting high this morning. I don’t know if that’s because I was out on the bike a lot over the last few days or because I’ve finally started sleeping in bed again after spending weeks sleeping more comfortably on the sofa.

Either way, I make my daily TDL – mindful that if I start my day by writing it I’m more likely to focus than I would if I did it later– and then start making sure that both my phone and my camera are charged – I’m going to need both today.

9.34AM – WEEKLY REVIEW AND GOALS

After giving in and allowing myself to procrastinate and read up on a couple of websites, I make another cup of tea and listen to this Epic Gaming playlist on Spotify that I have been loving the last couple of days.

focus

Then it’s time to get on with reviewing my week and setting new goals.

I didn’t do well on the productivity front, only achieving 24/50 weekly tasks for 5/10 weekly goals, but I did do over 2 miles more than my weekly cycling miles target, so I’m happy with that.

I’ll also share with you what I wrote in my general review.

This week just completely got away from me, and I’m not entirely sure how. I had more days off than I planned to and lost huge chunks of hours when I should have been working on hings.
But, I’m not going to beat myself up, I can’t get that week back, there’s no point dwelling on it.
What I can do – and what the whole point of this review should be about in the first place, is this:
What can I learn from this week and implement into my life next week to make things better.

Making my TDL first thing in a morning stops me from spending the first hour procrastinating and wasting time.
Sleeping on the sofa may be better for my back than sleeping in a bed
Eating right gives me more energy and reduces the need for long naps.
If I only use those three things going forward, I can start making some big changes and improving my life. It is this that has been the problem the whole time, not actually listening and learning -or casually glancing at the answers but then not actually doing anything- that has been why I am not making the kind of progress I want to make.
This is a turning point for me, and going forward, I am going to kick some ass.

These are my ten goals for this week:

  1. COMPLETE ALBERT’s ARTICLES (BUSINESS)
  2. COMPLETE DUNALASTAIR ARTICLES (BUSINESS)
  3. COMPLETE AMSTERDAM ARTICLES (BUSINESS)
  4. DO RUTH’S MIGRATION & INVOICE (BUSINESS)
  5. LAUNCH HCL WEBSITE (BUSINESS)
  6. DEFINE PRICE LIST (BUSINESS)
  7. WRITE MEDIUM – CIGS HARDER ARTICLE (WRITING)
  8. WRITE SECOND MEDIUM ARTICLE (WRITING)
  9. DEAL WITH OTHER PRINTER & LAPTOPS (HOME & FINANCE)
  10. ORGANISE PHOTOS FROM LONDON (TRAVEL)

I then break those ten goals into fifty small tasks that I will complete throughout this week.

I also then create my weekly chart, which keeps me on track and ensures that every day, I do some task -no matter how small- towards my four main goal areas:

  • Health
  • Wealth
  • Passion
  • Practicality.

Having done all that, I feel passionate, positive, inspired, and excited about the week ahead.

10.31AM – GET READY TO MEET JENNY

I was going to do a meditation next, but Jen texts me and asks me if I want to join her in doing one when we meet this morning, so I say yes.

Always say yes to new experiences. 

That gives me plenty of time to get myself together and get out the door. So I make a cup of tea then head to the bedroom to get ready.

All the while that I’m getting ready I think to myself about how nice it has been to have so much peace as of the last two days and how you really can’t chase this or force it – force it and you only force it further away. 

Relax, remember that what I focus on I get more of, remember that the universe is working for me, and contentment comes my way. 

11.05AM – SET OFF TO MEET JENNY

Speaking of relaxing, I set off later than I intended to, but Jen texts me just as I’m leaving and says she won’t be around until 11.45AM, good job I wasn’t worried about it. 

This way I’ll have time to get the shopping done that I need to do – eggs and spinach – before sitting down for a coffee. 

11.16AM – FARM FOODS

I head over to a different frozen foods store than I normally go to, and get 30 eggs and 700g of spinach for a total of £3. 

That’s a bargain for saying it is essentially my breakfast covered for the next ten days. 

11.28AM – MEET JEN

I head to our usual spot and get my mocha, then spend a few minutes working on a draft article whilst waiting for Jen. 

 

I spend a good couple of hours today with Jen, and find it really beneficial.

Mainly, I’m there for her, helping her to get ideas together for the content for her website, and to take a few head and shoulders shots.

But there’s more to it than that. Working with her, and getting the feedback I get from here, I start to get a sense of clarity about what it is I actually do.

I know that probably sounds strange given that I’ve been doing it for years, but working with Jen helps me to article it:

I help my clients to communicate their passions, values and ideas.

I’m already feeling good, but then I feel even better when Jen takes me through a Loving Kindness metta meditation which is similiar to this:

I love it, and feel totally at peace. Perfect.

2.16PM – HEAD HOME

After Jen and I say goodbye, I head to Waterfields and pick up an unhealthy lunch, then head home again.

2.48PM – LUNCH, SAM

I get home and enjoy eating my lunch whilst chatting with Sam. Eventually I get the fog, and lay down to take a nap.

3.24PM – NAP

I nap on the sofa and feel incredibly comfortable. I doze and have an enjoyable snooze that makes me feel better when I wake up.

5.12PM – SAM TIME

After waking up, I grab some tea and hang out with Sam, just laughing and relaxing and enjoying each other’s company until Sam decides that she needs a nap and goes to like down at 8.06PM.

8.27PM – BACK STRETCHES AND SHOWER

After Sam lies down, I take a few minutes to update this journal and check Twitter then get on with doing the remaining things that are on my list for today, and that includes back stretches.

I’m also feeling a little grotty, so a quick shower will be helpful.

Back stretches are OK. I can feel them starting to have some effect, but I think it’s a long way to go before I get any actual real benefits from them.

9.06PM – WORK

My client sent me their usual proof reading work, but they did so when I was already out and with Jen, so I make a cup of tea, burn some incense, and sit down to get that done.

That takes me roughly 40 minutes to complete with talking to Sam a bit in between (her nap didn’t last very long), but at least it is done and out of the way.

9.53PM – TIDY UP

As ashamed as I am to say it, I actually spend until 1AM cleaning my flat.

It’s not that it’s that messy, it’s just that I get into one of those zones were I go into serious detail about getting things cleaned up and really making everywhere spotless.

1.04AM – FOOD AND END MY DAY

I use up some food in my cupboard – two sausages and some potato wedges- and keep on top of cleaning my kitchen whilst those are done.

It’s 1.47AM before I finally turn off, and go sit down to eat food and relax.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY

I really enjoyed spending the morning working Jen this morning. That was definitely the highlight of my day,  but only after getting to spend time with my Sami later in the day.

I got done what I wanted to get done, and my home is spotlessly clean, which is important to me if nobody else.

Tomorrow is a new day, and like all new days, it has the potential to be amazing.

 

One thought on “Day 37

Leave a Reply

