Day 36

I know that this day isn’t going to be successful. I couldn’t sleep last night, so I ended up awake until 3.30AM trying to fix a printer jam. 

Eventually, I gave up ad went to bed. It was only when I woke up this morning at 9.48AM that I realised I could just take the back off the printer and pull the paper out easily.

The first thing I did was make breakfast, then I ate that and basically drifted until 11.07AM when I start down to start today’s journal.

11.09AM – WRITE DAILY TDL

It occurs to me that if I remember to write a daily TDL immediately after making breakfast, I am going to have a more productive day, because as soon as I see tasks written down I feel compelled to start doing them, where as drifting just accomplishes nothing.

I set a reminder on my phone to remind me of that in the morning.

11.15AM – GRATITUDE AND MEDITATION

Meditation is all over the place tonight, I find myself lost in a resentment against tonight’s AA meeting. I think it is the source of all my frustration and despair.

Maybe it is time to get my shit together and announce at the next conscience meeting that I no longer want to be a part of that meeting.

Let’s see.

I’ll park that for now, I can make a decision about it later, but for now, let’s park it.

11.34AM – BACK STRETCHES, TAI CHI, AND SHOWER

I always feel better after doing those; a good dose of energy and getting my body moving in the right direction.

I do my physio stretches, practice both the Beijing 10 Step and the first couple of moves from the standard 24 form, then shower, brush my teeth, shave, moisterize and get dressed.

12.14PM – TAKE PRINTER CABLE BACK TO PARENTS

I borrowed a lead for my printer from my parents because I don’t have one of my own, so now that I’ve got that printer fixed and know that it is working for future use, I take the lead back.

12.47PM – START WORK

I’m feeling tired, drained, and unfocussed today. I even slump into a low mood when I get back from my parents, but I have to remember, either the depression beats me, or I beat it.

The universe always gives me what I want and what I need, so I have nothing to worry about. I can go forth and do what I gotta get done today, and what I gotta get done is to finish prepping articles.

Today’s work music is this –

 

Whilst I’m working, I get distracted by downloading and trying out Swarm, but since so much of what I do for work is directed to the travel and leisure industry, I see this as research. Maybe I can use this.

I’ve actually enjoyed working today. I got all the article planning done that I wanted to do, and I think this meditation music is really helping get me in a beautiful, tranquil place.

I start to feel a little foggy, so I make a chamomile tea, then sit down to think about taking a nap.

15.30PM – UPDATE TRIPADVISOR

Whilst I’m drinking my tea, I take a few minute to update my TripAdvisor with reviews from my visit to Manchester a few weeks ago.

3.58PM – MAKE FOOD

I make a bit of chicken with some cauliflower and carrots. I eat that and spend a few minutes catching up with my friend Jayde on Facebook whilst creating a Facebook page for my hobby blog.

4.32PM – CLEAN AND TIDY

I was tempted to nap, but honestly, I still feel wide awake, so I decide that the best thing to do is to make use of the extra energy and finish getting my flat straight and tidy.

I manage to get on top of the kitchen again and clean my hall way, then it’s time to get on and get in the shower.

6.02PM – SHOWER AND GET READY

I take a quick shower, then I jump back into my tracksuit and get myself ready for a bike ride.

I still don’t want to go to tonight’s meeting, but I figure if I just cycle around for a while I’ll feel better and eventually go there.

6.31PM – BIKE RIDE

2017-04-18 10.53.19

My plan is mainly to clock up the six miles I need to complete my weekly cycling target, but really it’s just baout getting out of the house and having some fun,a nd I do have fun with this.

I cycle around Pennington Flash and up and down the canal until it’s time to go to the meeting.

7.30PM – AA MEETING

I actually get there a little late but don’t mind. I just sit in the corner quietly until it’s time to go home, then I pack up and cycle like the wind to get back home again.

9.21PM – DINNER

Although I am committed to losing weight, I have decided that from Friday nights to Saturday night is when I’m allowed to eat whatever I want, so I treat myself to a pepperoni pizza and a big piece of cake.

If I give myself this treat once a week, it might just inspire me to stick with the diet more rigidly during the rest of the time.

I eat dinner and waste some time going over the Internet.

10PM – GAMING

For the rest of the night, I indulge my inner-geek by playing Second Life. Sam gets home around 11pm and joins me and we stay together for the next two hours until it’s time for me to go to bed around 2am.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY

I enjoyed today; it was peaceful, calm, and enjoyable. The only parts that were not, where when I had to think about the Friday AA meeting which I just don’t enjoy and makes me anxious and weird.

Tomorrow is another day though, and hopefully I can carry that peace over into a new day.

One thought on “Day 36

Leave a Reply

