Day 33

I’m up at 8.20am this morning (I know it’s on the dot because I message Sam the moment I wake and it records the time). I actually feel good, positive, and if not bursting with energy, at least ready to tackle whatever the day may bring. 

I had to the kitchen, and for once waste no time in getting breakfast ready. A three-egg-and-spinach omelette with chia seeds, pepper, and paprika is prepared whilst I make tea, fill up a hot water bottle for my back pain, and get the recycling ready to go down stairs later. 

Then I’m here, and eat breakfast whilst getting this journal started and reading a few things online. I also make a daily TDL and a second cup of tea, and by 9.10AM, I’m ready to get this thing underway.

9.10AM – GRATITUDE AND MEDITATION

Let’s start this day off properly, shall we?

I find myself highly distracted this morning but finally start to get into it as my five minute meditation comes to an end. I decide to just stay with it, to just let it be as I’m finally just settling into focussing on that one breath.

But, as another meditation video automatically loads itself on Youtube, I find myself getting tense, my shoulders stiffening, my back tight. I decide to just let it go, just for today, and go focus on my back, health, and hygiene.

9.39AM – BACK STRETCHES, SHOWER, MEDS, AND DRESSED

That was all straight forward. I don’t do Tai Chi today, because I’ve got my back stretches in, and I know I’m going out on my bicycle this morning, so that’s my exercise.

I have a full shower, brush my teeth, shave and moisturize then get dressed into comfy clothes, and then I’m more than ready to get my day started.

10.10AM – DOWN TO PARENTS’ WITH LAUNDRY

I walk down, stuff my laundry on, and go to borrow their handheld vacuum cleaner to clean the rug in my living room, but it turns out it doesn’t work properly, so I leave that where it is, and head straight home.

10.40AM – CYCLE INTO TOWN

2017-04-18 10.45.11-1

I get into town and make my first stop buying some blue hair dye.

This has been on my mind for weeks and is probably an incredibly dumb idea , but it’s also one I’ve been obsessing over, so I get it and then go out to buy more incense sticks to replace the ones I lost.

I but two bags of diced chicken, some washing up liquid and some cleaning wipes, then head for a coffee at the place where I usually meet Jen.

This gives me a few minutes to just set to down and relax before lugging this heavy shopping bag home.

Given that I’m making more of an effort to lose weight, I probably shouldn’t have chosen a mocha, but honestly, force of habit comes into play and I can’t help but order the same old thing.

Whilst I’m enjoying my coffee I sit down to update this journal and start drafting some other content.

Whilst I’m getting coffee, I realise that my phone is cracked because I keep dropping it so I’m going to have to go and but a case when I get done here.

I get a case for £7, and I’m actually pretty sure that it’s too small, but I manage to make it fit, then enjoy a glorious run down the Leeds/Liverpool canal en route home.

2017-04-18 12.12.10-1

The ride itself gives me 7.18 miles added to my total, which means I’ve got about 18 left to ride before Friday. I’m sure that’s possible.

12.48PM – MAKE TEA, UPDATE JOURNAL, CHECK EMAIL

I get home and just have a few minutes of doing very little but updating this journal, adding my miles to my weekly daily chart, and checking my emails.

1.05PM – LUNCH WITH FRIENDS

I’m about to head back to my parents to turn my laundry over to dry when my friend Steve rings me to say that he and a few friends are passing mine en route for lunch, and did I want to join them.

Naturally, I said yes, so I head out there and enjoy lunch with my friends.

I have fish and chips and peas. I don’t like fish, but it was easier than most of the unhealthy options on the menu, so I have that, and then enjoy an hour or so in the company of good people.

2.55PM – GO PUT LAUNDRY OUT TO DRY

By the time I get back, it’s getting late in the day, but I need to go put my laundry out to dry, so I quickly run and do that, steal a couple of cotton buds to help me clean the printer,  and then head back.

3.32PM – NAP TIME

I’m far more tired today than I was yesterday, so I lay down on the sofa and nap for the best part of an hour. It’s more light dozing than a full on, heavy nap, but it does the job.

4.28PM – TEA AND CHAT TO SAM

My girl has got a busy day so I just steal a few minutes with her before going out to get my hair cut.

4.48PM – HAIR CUT TIME

2017-04-18 17.57.48

6.34PM – DINNER AND TIDY BEDROOM

I put fries and the rest of my cheese and onion bakes in the oven, set a timer for 22 minutes, and then go off to tidy my bedroom whilst that’s cooking.

7.06PM – WORK ON HOBBY BLOG

I spend a good couple of hours working on my hobby blog today and almost have this latest post finished. It’s a slog, because the subject itself is a bit of a slog, but I get through it.

Half way through this, I let myself down big time, run out and buy chocolate and cake. Not a good day.

9.30PM – DJ SET

I get my online radio set together and at 10PM DJ all the way through til midnight.

MIDNIGHT – 2AM – TIME WITH SAM

If this is the only time I’m gonna get with Sam today, then so be it. We hang out until around 2am when I just need to sleep because I physically can’t stay awake any longer.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY

I didn’t get a lot done off my goals, but getting a haircut, shopping, and spending time with my friends are all good things and (in the case of buying stuff for my home -kind of important), so today was just a day off that had to get done.

Hopefully tomorrow is a more productive day.

One thought on “Day 33

Leave a Reply

