Day 27

I woke up late this morning, at 9.37am – but felt like I got all the sleep I needed after an exhausting couple of days.

For the first hour, I mostly waste time waking up, reading the Internet, scrolling through Twitter, and updating a few bits and pieces from these journals that had been left untouched since Sunday.

10.47AM – GRATITUDE AND MEDITATION

I can’t believe how late in the day it is already, but I guess I just have to make the best of it, realise that this is where I’m supposed to be for whatever reason, and get started.

I still really enjoy that meditation I found the other day but I didn’t do a good job with it today. Too distracted and too full of things that just have to be done.

Still, there’s always tomorrow.

11.01AM – SHOWER, BACK STRETCHES, BREAKFAST, AND MEDS

I’m tempted to not do my back stretches today given that I have my Tai Chi class later tonight, but I promised myself that I would do whatever it took to get my back fixed, so I’ve gotta do this too.

So, I do my back stretches, shower, brush my teeth and shave. Then,  I take my meds, vitamins and some pain medication, and make a three-egg-and-spinach omelette with onion, chia seeds, pepper and paprika.

I’m determined that today will be the day that I start eating healthier and getting my life back on track.

11.42AM – WORK

Today, I just have one job to do – come up with a list of article topics / titles to pitch to my big client for four different brands.

OK, that sounds simple, but this basically means pitching fresh ideas every month, with only a finite amount of things to talk about (local attractions, events, about the company itself, addressing long-term customer problems). It may take me a while, but I get started whilst eating my omelette.

This is actually a straight forward task, and I find that articles flow pretty easily, but then there’s a problem.

When I send the articles on, I get an email back to say that we’re no longer working for one brand – and that just happens to be the one brand that is closest to Manchester.

Damnit.

Oh well, I’m sure something else will turn up, it always does.

1.19PM – PORTFOLIO BLOG WRITING

Time to get on with this and work towards my goal for the week. slowly but surely, I get everything finished. I’m almost up-to-speed with catching up from my depression relapse in February.

3.03PM  – TIME WITH SAM

Sam calls and we spend a few hours just chatting and having fun until she has to go out and take care of her family for a while.

5.06PM – DINNER AND HOBBY BLOG

Dinner today is chicken with some vegetable chilli. I make that reasonably well without burning anything, and do a bit of cleaning in the kitchen whilst it’s cooking.

Then I eat whilst working on my hobby blog.

6.20PM – GET READY FOR TAI CHI

This is the part of my week that I start looking forward to, wearing my Tai Chi polo shirt for the first time, limberingup and getting ready to go learn something and get healthy and relax.

I quickly get ready, tell Sam I will see her later, and then head out the door around 6.45PM.

7PM – TAI CHI CLASS

I really enjoy Tai Chi class today. It’s basically going back to the beginning and learning the 24 form.

 

I learned a bit of this when I first started learning Tai Chi, but then we moved to the Ten Step, and I’ve done that all the way through but now it’s time for me to start learning the 24 form basically from scratch. I’m actually looking forward to the next several months worth of lessons.

8.15PM – SAMI TIME

After class, I get home, quickly grab some food and then sit down to spend the rest of my night with Sam, just hanging out with her until bed time. She’s starting to feel better but not by much, so it’s my job just to be gentle and patient with her and let her do whatever she needs to do.

I will just be here and love on her.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY

Leave a Reply

