Day 23

I slept on the couch again last night and went to sleep around 1.10am then woke up at 7.24Am this morning. 

I don’t feel as well rested as I did the night before, but I definitely feel better than I would have done if I’d slept in my bed.

I have a few minutes with Sam, then she goes to sleep and I spend the first 30 minutes trying to wake up and making my daily TDL.

8.07AM – GRATITUDE AND MEDITATION

I make a cup of tea and sit down to do my usual gratitude journal, and this time try a different meditation.

I try this meditation this morning and it seems to be effective:

OK, so I’m still not perfect, but I certainly think I do better than with the positive mind one that I have been using.

8.30AM – WEEKLY REVIEW AND GOAL SETTING

I missed all of my targets this week, but not by much, so I’m OK with that. I also completed 9/10 weekly goals and 48/50 tasks from my weekly TDL.

This week’s goals are:

  1. MEET WITH JENNY RE: WEBSITE (BUSINESS)
  2. GET HYDER REVISIONS IN (BUSINESS)
  3. GET ALL PACIFIC IDEAS IN (BUSINESS)
  4. GET PRO INSTALL CASE STUDY DONE (BUSINESS)
  5. GET RUTH’S WEBSITE LAUNCHED (BUSINESS)
  6. WRITE FIVE PORTFOLIO BLOGS (WRITING)
  7. GET IN YOUR HOUSE REVIEW DONE (WRITING)
  8. PHYSIO – 8AM MONDAY MORNING (HEALTH)
  9. GO TO MANCHESTER AND PHOTOGRAPH IT (TRAVEL)
  10. SORT LAPTOPS AND PRINTERS IN LIVING ROOM (LIFE AND FINANCE)

With that done, I get my weekly TDL and chart created.

9.03AM – BACK STRETCHES

I’ve got to get ready to go out soon, but I’ve still got time to ensure my back stretches are done for the morning.

Whilst I’m doing back exercises I also take the time to practice some Tai Chi.

I think the 24 form is slowly coming back to me, but I’ve still got work to do before I remember it properly.

Instead I focus on running through the 24 form twice.

I then brush my teeth, take a shower and get dressed.

I’m running later than planned, but that’s not a big problem. It is Saturday, and I’m going to take things easy and at my own pace whilst at the same time still getting things done.

9.47AM – VISIT PARENTS

My first port of call this morning is to head to my parents because I need to put a load of washing on.

Whilst I’m there, dad asks me why I haven’t been down to clean the conservatory like I said I would.

The honest answer is that I totally forgot about it, but instead I tell him that I thought he wanted me to wait til next week.

I then start getting anxious about being meet Jenny because Dad starts telling me everything that needs doing.

Further anxiety when mum then starts talking to me, asking me to come and check on the dog later because they’re all out for the day going into Manchester, I assume for the Grand National.

She also tells me that my sister and her boyfriend have moved out and gone to live with her boyfriend’s dad and step mum. The reason is that they had some falling out with my brother and his girlfriend who also live there.

Honestly, I don’t care that much, but I do think that’s only going to lead to bigger problems down the way.

Eventually I get out of there and head into town to meet Jenny.

10.15AM – MEET JENNY

When I get to the coffee shop where we agreed to meet, it turns out she’s running late so I really didn’t have to be so anxious about getting here on time.

I order a mocha and sit down to update this journal.

By 10.45AM she’s still not here so I order a second mocha and work on some draft posts on my phone.

Jenny finally turns up about 11am and we have a good hour together finally making progress on putting ideas together for her websites and me giving her advice on starting up her business.

Can you believe that?

Me, giving somebody else advice on running a business and how to stay motivated whilst self employed.

I guess in some respects that means I’m doing better than I think with respects to work. If only people knew how hard I have to work just to get simple things done.

Jen also agrees to pay me £50 per month to help with her website and for consultancy and guidance. I’m happy to do that.

When were done, I go shopping for the following items:

  • Eggs
  • Water filters
  • Batteries for my laptop keyboard
  • Onions.

I then buy a big unhealthy lunch and head home to work on my hobby blog for an hour.

12.53PM – LUNCH & HOBBY BLOG

I get a good 40 minutes on this and I’m almost at the end. If there’s time later, I’ll go back and finish it off, but as I’m working on it, I start to get anxious that I haven’t heard from my client about their usual social media proof reading stuff.

1.28PM – WORK

I check my email, and sure enough there’s a message labelled “urgent.”

That bugs me, when you send a whole week’s worth of social media posts together in one document, how can they be urgent. What you mean is that your’re behind on your schedule so now I have to change my priorities to stop you from missing your deadlines.

Meh, fuck it, it was on my list to do the proof reading anyway, so I get it done and then find that I’ve hit a wall, so I allow myself to go and take a guilt-free nap for as long as I need.

1.57PM – NAP

It turned out the nap was the best part of two hours, and was also just what I needed. Though I haven’t fully woken up, I do feel better for taking that nap, and more properly able to get on with my day.

3.50PM – WORK

I have to proof read the articles that I wrote this past week so that they’re ready for delivery. I set up and get that job done next.

Hopefully this won’t take long.

Turns out it didn’t. Sam called me when I was half way through this, but since it was only proofing, I kind of balanced talking to her and concentrating on reading.

I get the majority done, but then I need to drop off and take a break so that I can head down to my parents.

5.30PM – BACK TO PARENTS

I walk down there just to let the dog out, but he seems to be missing the family so much o he’s not too interested and just mopes around. I turn my washing over and put it in the dryer, help myself to a handful of teabags (I’ve run out at home), then head back to finish off work.

6.05PM – BACK TO WORK

I just have two more articles to proof read. So I get those done without too much hassle, though there is a big part of me that is procrastinating and distracted by looking up random things on the Internet in between doing what i’m supposed to be doing.

When I’m done , I send all the articles over to the client, and cross that job off my list.

6.41PM – TIDYFLAT

There’s just one thing left to do to make sure I can tick off all four categories today, and that’s look after the flat.

Sam calls back, so whilst i’m hanging out with her I slowly but surely get the living room cleaned, tidied, and swept, then start work on the kitchen.

9.05PM – MAKE DINNER

Eventually, Sam leaves to make dinner for her family, so I finish off last night’s crumpets with a tin of beans and sausage.

Whilst I’m eating those I work on my hobby blog. I’m close to finishing this now. I think I actually said the same thing yesterday, but tomorrow I’ll definitely be done with this. So that’s exciting.

11PM – FINISH CLEANING KITCHEN AND TIDY BEDROOM

Sam’s still busy, and I’m up to date with everything, so I take half an hour to finish tidying the kitchen and put my laundry away.

11.30PM – FINISH THE NIGHT WITH SAM

Sam is sick and hurting and that makes me terribly Sad. I wish there was more I could do to look after her, but I just have to be here for in whatever capacity I can be.

We hang out until around 1am, which I know is late, and then when I just can’t stay awake any longer, it’s time for me to head to bed.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY

Today was exactly what it was supposed to be; a relaxing day where I slowly but surely worked my way through the things that I needed to work through.

I got everything done, and I feel like I’m on top of everything. All that’s left me to do is to keep going. Here’s to it.

 

Leave a Reply

