Day 16

I feel like I slept much better last night and just enjoyed resting, but I was still up a few times, mostly because I was excited about starting new projects, and about watching WWE wrestling later.

goal

I get some rest though, and wake up again around 8.30AM, after which I make a cup of tea, then plan out my daily TDL and spend some time just tidying up yesterday’s entry, which had a few crucial pointers missing.

With that, I’m basically ready to get going.

9AM EXACTLY – GRATITUDE AND MEDITATION

These aren’t on my daily TDL today because I’ve got other things that are important, but that doesn’t mean I can afford to skip this. If I’m going to have a successful and positive and upbeat day, it needs to start here.

9.15AM – WEEKLY REVIEW

I’m excited about today, because I get to do new goals not only for a brand new month, but for the next three months, or what I call “Quarter Two” but first I have to start with the basics. How did I do this week?

I wrote a description of how I do my weekly goals on day 9 which you can read here.

It’s while I’m reviewing my week that I also remember that I passed six months without a cigarette this week, so that’s an achievement.

This week, I beat my word target but failed at cycling and income, and only did 7/10 weekly goals and 37/50 weekly TDL tasks, but I feel like I got priorities done, and I’m OK with that.

I also got my weekly chart done. Again, see Day 9 for an example of that.

9.34AM – MONTHLY REVIEW

This is normally the part where I would dive straight into writing my weekly goals, but because it’s the first day of a new month, I also have to review my monthly goals, and later my goals for quarter one.

I do these slightly differently. Instead of ten tasks, I set 30 bigger monthly goals. These then fit into 30 even bigger quarterly goals (a quarter being every three months), and then my 30 bigger quarterly goals fit into my 30 over all yearly goals.

Each month, I review my progress, clock up my achievements, and use this to motivate me to move on. So now that it’s April 1st, it’s time for me to review how I did in March.

March was a tough month for me because I was coming out of the tail end of a long period of depression, and didn’t actually start working on my goals again until maybe the middle of the month, but I certainly did the best I could, and even though I fell short of many things, I’m proud of what I did achieve, which was this:

Words written: 13,022 (target: 10,000)
Hours worked: 42 hours, 14 minutes
Money Made: £203 (target: £700)
Miles Cycled 23.34 miles (target: 50)
Monthly goals complete: 17/30

Top Ten Achievements in March

  1. GOT THROUGH MY DEPRESSION AND GOT “BACK TO NORMAL” (HEALTH)
  2. FINISHED ALL RPW REVIEW (WRITING)
  3. WROTE NEW MEDIUM ARTICLE (WRITING)
  4. CELEBRATED SIX MONTHS WITHOUT A CIGARETTE (HEALTH)
  5. GOT DATE FOR PHYSIO APPOINTMENT (HEALTH)
  6. STARTED CYCLING AGAIN (HEALTH)
  7. STARTED NEW DAILY JOURNAL (HEALTH/MENTAL HEALTH/LIFE STUFF)
  8. GOT MY MOBILE WORKING AGAIN (LIFE STUFF)
  9. SENT IN FORM APPLYING FOR TAX CREDITS (LIFE STUFF)
  10. SECURED ENOUGH WORK TO KEEP ME FINANCIALLY STABLE (BUSINESS/FINANCE)

10.14AM – QUARTERLY REVIEW

I break my yearly goals down into slightly smaller “quarterly” goals – so every three months (Jan – March, April – June, July – September, October – December) is a new quarter. Those goals are then broken down into monthlies, then weeklies, then dailies.

Today being the first of April means it’s the end of quarter one and the start of quarter two, so I have to start here with reviewing how I did in quarter one, which I’m honestly not expecting to be great, but here goes.

Before I really get into this review, I take a few minutes to go to the shop and buy new teabags and a pint of milk, and also to take my medication.

The review looks good. I suffered with my depression throughout all of February and the first part of March, so it was a miracle that I got anything done.  Of course, I wish I’d made better progress, but I think just getting some stuff done gave me a realistic figure to work with.

I now need to work on my quarterly goals and monthly and weekly goals, but first there’s something else I need to do.

10.51AM – GO TO PARENTS TO PRINT SOMETHING OFF

The woman from church who relies on me to help her with her laptop and tech troubles is having problems with her printer, so she asks me if I can help print off her sermon for tomorrow.

I haven’t the heart to tell her that my printer doesn’t work, so I agree. She’s emailed me the document, and now I need to put it on a pen drive and take it to my parents to print off there. I better get a wiggle on and get this done. It will also give me a chance to take some laundry down there, so here goes.

So I run around frantically trying to do that, all the while my parents’ laptop taking its sweet ass time to load up, trying to remind myself that I AM DOING SOMEBODY A FAVOUR AND THIS ISN’T LIFE OR DEATH.

Eventually I get it done and rush back, Chris is waiting for me. She’s forgotten the money she wants to pay me, which is OK, because I feel guilty taking money from her anyway, and that money will only be going to pay back what I owe another pot of money.

Whilst I’m at my parents, I pick up another printer that my aunt has past to me. I’m appreciative that people think of me, but I reckon that’s just going to be more junk that I now have to deal with.

11.36AM – QUARTERLY GOALS

Finally, here comes the good part. I get to put some music on and plan out my goals for the next three months.

This starts by reading through my goals for 2017, to make sure these goals are still in line with what I want for my life and reflect my values.

When I’m sure they are (they are), I get to work.

I first set my targets for the quarter. To do this, I look at how much I achieved for each of my targets in quarter one, and subtract that figure from my total target from the year. I then divide that figure by three, for the three remaining quarters of the year, and use that figure as my quarterly figure.

My targets for Quarter 2 look insanely high:

Targets

  • INCOME: £10,840
  • WORDS: 88, 566
  • MILES: 313
  • But that’s why I break them down into smaller, more achievable chunks. I also do this with my goals.

I go through each of the 30 goals on this list and ask myself

What is the next big task I need to complete to get closer to achieving this goal?

That big task will then be broken down into smaller, monthly goals, smaller monthly goals into smaller weekly goals, and smaller weekly goals into smaller daily tasks.

This is where we start.

Today’s album for doing my goals is DOWN – Nola

I feel excited by the time I’ve done those quarterly goals, but I also feel exhausted. I’m going to push on though, and do my monthlies before I take a nap.

12.29PM – MONTHLY GOALS

This is just the same, breaking down quarterly goals into smaller ones and asking the same question:

What’s the next task I need to complete that I can do within a month?

 

First, I break down those targets I set for the quarter.  This is done by dividing my quarterly targets by three (3 months in each quarter) to create new, smaller targets.

 

  • INCOME: £3613
  • WORDS: 29,522
  • MILES: 104

 

These don’t seem quite as severe as the quarter ones, do they?

I make another cup of tea, and then get on with setting goals.

12.57PM – NAP TIME

I’m feeling good and excited about what I’m doing with my goals, but at the same time, I’m also starting to feel tired, with my head hurting and the fog clouding over my brain. Time to go lie down and get a bit of a rest before carrying on.

3.06PM – WEEKLY GOALS

I can’t believe it’s taken me pretty much all day to get this stuff done, but I do know that I feel way more comfortable and refreshed after a nap. So, I grab another cup of tea, and sit down to get the rest of my goal planning done, starting with my weekly goals.

My targets seem even more managable when I divide them by four (for the four weeks in April) and make that figure my target for the week:

  • INCOME: £903
  • WORDS: 7,380
  • MILES: 26.

My goals this week are a good mix of running my business, getting healthy, and working on passion projects, they are as follows:

  1. FINISH ALL PACIFIC WORK (BUSINESS)
  2. BILL HYDER & GET PAID FOR PACIFIC WORK (BUSINESS)
  3. FINISH ALL FAYE/MBE WORK (BUSINESS)
  4. CALL RUTH AND GET NATURE’S DEN FINISHED (BUSINESS)
  5. GET MY KITCHEN LIGHT FIXED (HOME LIFE)
  6. GET UP-TO-DATE LIST OF DEBTS (HOME LIFE)
  7. ATTEND PHYSIO APPOINTMENT (HEALTH)
  8. PAY FOR TAI CHI CLASSES & SHIRT (HEALTH)
  9. WRITE FIVE PORTFOLIO BLOG POSTS (WRITING)
  10. CHANGE RPW GRAPHICS AND ADS (WRITING).

3.22PM – WEEKLY TDL AND CHART

Finally, the last thing that I have to do to plan my goals out is to break those ten goals into 50 small, individual tasks that I will work on throughout the week. I also need to do my chart that helps me make sure that every day I am doing something towards my goals in four key areas:

  • HEALTH (remaining pain free and at a health weight)
  • WEALTH (business/finance)
  • PASSION (projects and creativity)
  • PRACTICALITY (managing my home and paying bills)

3.40PM – PUT LAUNDRY ON TO DRY

With that done, I get dressed again and head back to my parents to take my washing out of the washing machine and put it on to dry, and also to pick up some Chinese food that they left me.

Before I leave, I also take the recycling out and put it in the appropriate bins.

4.08PM – COOK EARLY DINNER

It turned out the Chinese food they left was disgusting, so I threw it in the bin on the way home and picked up some beans, hot dog sausages and crumpets. I’m going to make a light, early lunch and sit down to watch the WWE Hall of Fame 2017 until Sam wakes up and wants to talk.

I loved that show, it was just everything it needed to be, funny, emotional, inspiring, everything that’s good about pro wrestling and made me a fan all those many years ago.

6.44PM – TIME WITH SAM

I actually watch the HOF in between having time with Sam. She’s around, but then she has to leave to take care of a family emergency, so I finish watching the show, then look at my goals and see what realistically I can get done over the next few hours until she gets back.

8.55PM – LOG ON AND WORK

With Sam gone, I find myself at a bit of a loose end and don’t really know what to do with myself, which is weird because I still have three boxes on my weekly chart to tick off, so I figure I might as well just log on and even just do an hour’s work. At least that one hour will push me closer to where I need to be in terms of completing my goals.

So, here goes.

First, I clear my whiteboard and write down how many articles I have to write this week.

It looks like this:

2017-04-01 23.06.54

Then I just got to work on writing two articles and getting them finished. I actually found the writing quite easy, but because it’s so late at night, because I’m starting to get tired again, and partly because it was Saturday night and I didn’t really want to be working, I felt very distracted and kept pulling myself back on track, forcing myself to get these two articles done.

By the time I was finished, my chart now looked like this:

2017-04-01 23.07.15

11.07PM – START NEW MONTHLY DAILY TRACKING SPREADSHEET

When I’m done, I realise that I need to track my hours, but since it’s the start of a new month, I need to make a new monthly daily spreadsheet. So I set that up and put my hours in there.

11.14PM – WORK ON HOBBY BLOG

I’m starting to get hungry again, so I make three crumpets with cheese.

Whilst they’re toasting, I take the time to practice a few Tai Chi moves so that at least  I can tick off the health goal box for today.

When they’re ready, I put a couple of minutes in working on my hobby blog, just to say that I’ve done something for today.

11.45PM – TV AND BED

I’ve done everything I needed to today, so now I can just go and crash out. Turn the computer off, and relax.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY:

Over all, it’s been a good day, and I’m pleased with my progress. Doing my goals today has really helped motivate me to get out there and kick some ass, and I can’t wait til tomorrow when I get to start properly on these things. I feel very inspired and am looking forward to much success in April.

2 thoughts on “Day 16

Leave a Reply

