Day 9

I barely slept last night. It was definitely gone 1am when i went to try and sleep, but I know that I was up all night and remember noticing the time at some time after 3am and then again sometime after 4am.

I woke up today some time around 8.30am but spent most of the first 40 minutes or so wasting time, dicking around on the Internet and wondering around my flat in a bit of daze, just trying to get my head around the day.

new-beginning-quote.jpg

At 9.14am, I’m ready to get going. It’s goal planning day, so that means there’s a lot to do.

9.15AM – WEEKLY REVIEW AND GOAL SETTING

I make a cup of tea and get started. For a basic over view of my weekly review and goal setting process, see last Saturday’s entry.

First, I have to open my daily tracker spreadsheet to total up how many hours I worked and get other stats that I document through the week, including:

  • Miles cycled
  • Income made
  • Words written

With my review this week, I did great. I beat my targets for words written and income made, completed 9/10 weekly goals and 48/50 of my weekly tasks on my TDL. I also made sure that every box on my weekly chart was successfully completed.

2017-03-25 08.31.19.jpg

With that done, I set my ten goals for this week.

I then set ten goals for this week, which are:

  1. DELIVER ALL WORKS APT. ARTICLES (BUSINESS)
  2. DELIVER ALL AMSTERDAM ARTICLES (BUSINESS)
  3. DELIVER ALL PACIFIC ARTICLES (BUSINESS)
  4. DELIVER AT LEAST 5 FAYE ARTICLES (BUSINESS)
  5. ORGANISE A DATE TO MEET JENNY RE: WEBSITE (BUSINESS)
  6. PUBLISH NEW MEDIUM ARTICLE ABOUT DEPRESSION (WRITING)
  7. FIX OR THROW SPARE LAPTOPS AND PRINTERS (FINANCE & HOME LIFE)
  8. GET KITCHEN LIGHT FIXED (FINANCE & HOME LIFE)
  9. ORGANISE REST OF LONDON PICS (TRAVEL)
  10. HELP DAD IN GARDEN (GOOD DEED)

With that done, I grab my third cup of tea of the day, a blank sheet of paper, and make this week’s chart to make sure I’m doing something towards my health, wealth, passion, and practical living each day.

9.58AM – WEEKLY HOUSEHOLD TASKS LIST

This is a new thing I want to try, focused on just the practicality of keeping my house in order and my bills paid. I want to aim to do at least one thing every day that contributes towards that. So far, my whole home is basically tidy because I worked so hard n cleaning it last week, but  obviously I will need to keep on top of that.

I go through each room in my home and just list all the tasks that need doing in that room.

In total, I clock 46 tasks between my living room, bedroom, kitchen, bathroom, and hallway. That should keep me occupied, and it does mean that now I never have to think about what needs doing. I can just get up and get on with the next task.

10.15AM – DOCUMENTING MUSIC AND MOVIE

A few years ago, I went through those lists of “100 albums/movies/books you must listen to/see/read before you die” I currated 100 of each, mostly ones that I’d never seen before, and systematically went through and experienced each one. To do all three hundred took me a couple of years, but when I was done, I decided to keep going, and just every book I read, every film I saw, or every album I listened to, I would record my thoughts about them as I had been doing for the past three hundred.

That means I need to write about The 40 Year Old Virgin that I watched yesterday, and whilst I’m at it, I also write about Metallica’s Reload album, that I’ve been listening to on and off for the past few weeks, and continues a trend I started last year of documenting every Metallica album.

The 40 Year Old Virgin is the 172nd film I’ve documented since 2011. Metallica’s Reload is the 123rd album.

10.51AM – GRATITUDE AND MEDITATION

I think I was just so desperate to get started with things in order to make up for how little I accomplished yesterday that I just didn’t want to do my morning spiritual work until I was satisfied that I could clock some stuff off my list.

That time is now.

11.04AM – TAI CHi, SHOWER, AND BREAKFAST

I suppose when you wake up and 8.30am and don’t sit down to eat a two-egg-and-spinach omlette with a bit of left over cheese until just after 12 noon, you can’t really be said to be eating breakfast, but rather skipping breakfast and eating a light lunch.

Whatever, I suppose that’s what I’m doing today. Everything goes according to plan, and I eat breakfast whilst replying to text from a client about arranging a meeting, and updating this journal. From there, it’s on to work.

12.01PM – WORK PART 1

Regular client has sent me some social media posts to revise, so I make this my first task of the day.

As I do, I decide that Dopes to Infinity will be my album of choice for today.

 

12.35PM – TAKE LAUNDRY TO PARENTS

It’s that time of the week again. Time to pack up a bag of my dirty clothes and go wash them at Mum & Dad’s.

1.09PM – CRASH AND BURN

On the walk to and from my parents I feel the fatigue hit me hard and drag me down into a serious state of despair. I must take a break. I only have two things left to do on a daily TDL that contains ten items, so I think I’m doing well so far. I can break and maybe work on the rest later when Sam logs to make dinner.

That was basically it for me. I watched a bit of wrestling, then I dozed off and fell asleep.

7PM – NIGHT WITH SAM

At some point I’m up and about and hang out with Sam for the evening. She’s hurting and in pain, which sucks, but I’m just so glad to spend any amount of time with her.

There’s a little period of time when Sam goes to make dinner that I get to sneak in and wrap up a little bit of work on my hobby blog, just enough to justify ticking that box today.

Otherwise, it’s just me and Sam, and I couldn’t be happier.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY

Let’s just say that for whatever reason I needed that rest today, that I just had to crash and burn in order to recover and get my energy back for the week ahead, which no doubt is going to be a busy one.

Of course, with the crashing and burning came the low mood, and with the low mood came the abundance of chocolate and unhealthy shit that I ate, but tomorrow is another day to put that right. At least I am trying.

Even if today was the worst that I have been in nine days, it still is far better than my life was only a couple of months ago.

Leave a Reply

