DAY 8

I don’t get any sleep last night. Every hour or two, I woke up wide awake as if it was time to wake up and something terrible might happen if I didn’t. I shrug this off because I’m pretty sure the only thing that’s going on is that I’m excited about booking Metallica tickets this morning. 

Eventually, sometime around 5.40AM, I give up trying to get back to sleep and allow myself to gradually wake up, get my pajamas back on, make some tea, and get here to the computer. 

6.24AM – SIGN UP FOR TICKET MASTER

Roughly two and a half hours before Metallica tickets go on sale, I’m not missing out. I make sure that Ticketmaster is up and running and that I’ve got the page open and ready to go.

That takes literally four minutes though, because it turns out I already have an account. I decide to add this to my document containing all my passwords so that I remember it in future.

This is the only way I will remember stuff like this.

6.29AM – BREAKFAST

I’m starving this morning, so I make two eggs and spinach scrambled egg on toast for breakfast with a second cup of tea. No disasters this morning, and making breakfast also gives me time to wash the dishes.

Whilst eating breakfast, I sit down and write my gratitude journal for the day.

7.12AM – GET READY AND GO FOR A SHORT BIKE RIDE

I set myself a goal to cycle 1,000 miles in 2017, and so far I doubt if I’ve even cycled 50 miles. I made it one of my weekly goals this week to just get back on my bike and go somewhere, even if it’s only for half an hour.

I haven’t been on the bike for so long now that it’s almost embarrassing, especially when it can do so much good for helping me to lose weight and build strength in my battered leg. So for today, all I need to do is just cycle.

I take a few minutes of getting distracted by a Youtube video that autoplays after my meditation track, then I put on my jogging pants, waterproof jacket, helmet and Adidas trainers. I grab my phone and set my cycling tracker which tells me how many miles I did and how long it took,, then I pop my iPod in my ears and go.

I cycle 7.56 miles in 48 minutes, 30 seconds, which is a bit more than I was planning to do, but certainly won’t hurt me in the long-run.

In the short-term however, I’m not so sure. My knees are absolutely killing me when I get back, but I’m not complaining, because that was awesome. The early spring weather was beautiful this morning, and I’m blessed to live close to Pennington Flash and the natural beauty spots surrounding that area, including a long stretch of the Leeds – Liverpool Canal, which I cycle down this morning.

I decide to keep cycling until I’ve listened to five songs on my iPod, then cycle back, which is what I do. That was so much fun, and I’m so grateful that I got to have that experience this morning.

8.22AM – SHOWER AND DRESSED

When I get back I’m drenched in sweat and exhausted, so I take the time to grab something to drink, have a hot shower, shave, brush my teeth and moisterize. Then I make my third cup of tea of the day, brush my hair, get dressed and sit down ready to buy Metallica tickets at 9am.

8.45AM – METALLICA TICKETS INSTANTLY SELL OUT

I was so excited about finally getting to realise a lifelong dream of seeing Metallica live in concert that I literally just sat around watching the clock for 9am.

The second it became nine am, it was like all the tickets instantly sold out. I was crushed. Devastated. I spent over an hour continuing to see if I could get one, but no.

Sometime around 10am I give up, run to the shop to buy a big fucking sugary treat because fuck it, and then come back and try to get on with my day.

10.30AM – BUY DOMAIN NAME FOR CLIENT

Along with freelance writing, I also build websites. I’m working on a job for a new client that I still haven’t bought the web address for despite her paying me a £50 deposit weeks ago, so I’d better do that now.

I get that done, and just as I’m wrapping up, the old woman from church comes to collect her laptop, so I give her that back. Combined with my bike ride from earlier this morning, that means I’ve completed three more weekly goals, meaning nine in total.

10.42AM – TO PARENTS AND THEN TOWN

I’ve got to go to town to post the tax credits form I filled in the other day and buy a gift for mum for mother’s day.

Off I go.

12.13PM – TAKING THE AFTERNOON OFF

No problems. That all went straight forward but I’m so tired by the time I get back that I can barely think straight. I bought cream cakes from town because fuck it, so I decide I’m going to eat those and sleep for as long as I need to in order to feel better about things.

That was the plan. What happened was that I ate those cakes whilst watching a film The Forty Year Old Virgin and then went to bed and woke up again around 6pm, meaning I ended up with the entire afternoon off.

You know what though? With the way I’m feeling today, I’m perfectly OK with that.

6.22PM – ARTICLE PLANNING

I’ve decided I’m not going out tonight. I’m way too exhausted. What I am going to do though, is finish planning a couple of articles so that I can be sure I have done something towards work today. This might not take long, but is worth doing because I want to tick off the wealth box on my chart today.

7.38PM – PLANNING PERSONAL ARTICLE

As part of my goal to write something every day, or at least work on my writing, I make my last task of the day planning an article I want to write about my latest bout of depression.

8.10PM – DINNER AND WORK ON HOBBY BLOG

After such a big lunch today, I’m just having a few pieces of cheese on toast for dinner. I eat those and wait for Sam to be ready after her dinner to spend some time together.

10PM – NIGHT WITH SAM AND LOG OFF

Time with Sam is poor because we’re both tired, pissed off, and in a low mood. I hope do to whatever it takes tomorrow to make it a better day with her.

REFLECTIONS ON TODAY

My mood really did affect everything today, and that made today the shittiest day I’ve had since I started this journal. Tonight, it’s time to go to bed, sleep as long as I need to, and then approach tomorrow with a brand new start as if nothing happened.

I have to remember that there is always tomorrow, and with tomorrow, I have another chance to bounce back and make my life something special. Here’s to it.

 

Leave a Reply

